We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent seafood restaurant”

Reel Seafood Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Reel Seafood Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
rochester,ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent seafood restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

late lunch, had the place almost to ourselves on a very rainy day, chairs comfortable, waitress wonderful, food delicious and very reasonable prices
!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fmg120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    155
    70
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rochester new york
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent, attentive service and good food!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The service was excellent. Our server was attentive, helpful, made suggestions, and best of all, was pleasant and friendly! All aspects of our dinner were good - appetizers fresh and well seasoned. In a group of five, each had a different menu item, and each enjoyed their meal. I would definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rochestertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food, "throwback" atmosphere”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Food was great with a nice selection. Atmosphere seemed a bit dated, but added some amusement. Incredibly attentive staff even on a busy night. Felt like one of those "great finds" - a classic place that's been around a long time but still gets it right.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drjamesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I always try to hit Reel Seafood when I'm in town. The food is fresh and well-prepared, and the service is excellent. Consistently great experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Reel Seafood Far from the Sea”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Albany, NY is a ways from the coast, whether you go south or east, but the Reel Seafood Factory does well anyway. If very slightly higher than typical area prices, RSF earns the difference. We each had a nice side salad as a starter, then on to main courses of crab cake for my wife and broiled sea scallops for me. Both were very good; maybe not the best we've ever eaten, (which would be Tidewater Grill, Havre de Grace, MD for the crab cakes, and Aval du Creux, Sark, Channel Islands for the scallops, both of which are rather closer to the sources) but very solid nonetheless. Accompanying vegetables, string beans and carrots were nicely prepared. Desserts were not particularly innovative, but I had a rice pudding which I enjoyed. Service was friendly and efficient (which don't always go together), the room was attractive, if a bit on the noisy side, (it was a Friday evening and groups were clearly celebrating the end of their work week).

The place is quite large and so, despite the fact that they were reasonably busy, our wait was only a minute. The large parking lot was more than adequate.

I doubt one could do very much better in the area and would not hesitate to recommend Reel Seafood Company to friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rags2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reel Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Reel Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing