We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ginger Man

The Ginger Man
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ginger Man is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 683 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Ginger Man Wine Bar and Restaurant is the perfect choice for a casual bottle of wine offering several appetizers and dinner. All menus offer creative sampling flights including appetizers, wines, beer, scotch and small batch bourbons from around the world. Its unique atmosphere provides a warm feeling whether you choose to linger over lunch or dinner. Our famous seasonal fruit and cheese board, charcuterie platter, or a house made dessert paired with our wide selection of ports, grappa and liqueur’s makes The Ginger Man a perfect destination spot.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great place to escape to.
Great atmosphere to relax.
Nice wine list and menu.
A place to visit when you want a nice light meal in an environment where you can talk to your date without shouting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
185 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice choice for a quiet meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter chose this restaurant for her birthday dinner. Pleasant atmosphere, we were seated in the back which has a cozy feel with just a handful of tables. Our server was genuinely pleasant and attentive to our table even as the tables filled up. Our appetizers were appropriately warm and served quickly. Our main courses looked appealing, tasted good and were cooked to our liking. We ordered across the menu, shrimp, mushrooms & zucchini fries, then steak and scallops, a burger and lemon chicken. Dessert was great too.

We would return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hitthehighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place with parking in the back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place has very appetizers still, but the entre quality has gone done in past months. The atmosphere is conducive to talking and makes for a nice dinner with a group.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intimate restaurant with above average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have visited the Ginger Man in Albany several times with pretty consistent results. Last night I had shortrib sliders with Irish cheddar and pickled red onion on slider potato rolls. It was a great combination, very tasty, delicious. I would have preferred a bit more cheese but overall, excellent. My daughter-in-law order the halibut special and my son, the pheasant dish which they enjoyed. The creme brulee had an off taste I couldn't pin point but a bit like a refrigerator taste. The apple cobbler my son ordered was very good. Our only chief complaint was that the back room was full and the noise level awful. We could barely talk. They might want to find a solution to that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in Albany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Gingerman is an unassuming building on Western Avenue in Albany, smack in the middle of a predominately college neighborhood. It truly is a diamond in the rough. The atmosphere is laid back, the food is excellent and the wine list will not disappoint. It's difficult to find something on the menu that is not deliciously satisfying and I've never experienced poor service. Additionally, the restaurant offers 3 portion sizes on some of the larger main entrees. Usually the medium size results in a substantial doggy bag at the end of the evening. Prices on main courses range from $20-28, but the varying sizes and other options can be less.

The lobster mac & cheese is one of my personal favorites followed closely by the paella. If you're in search of a yummy appetizer, the risotto crochettes are awesome. If you find that you have room for deserve (congratulations if you do!), the creme bruelee and the cheesecake (made locally by Cheesecake Machismo) will not disappoint. The only thing I'd like to see more of is their beer (specifically draught beer) selection. It is getting better, but I'm waiting for the day it matches their wine list :)

We don't eat frequently, but when we do, Gingerman is usually my recommendation. It's worth noting that it is a good idea to make reservations, especially on a Friday or Saturday evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbanyLaura518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ginger Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing