We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen one, seen 'em all (usually)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chili's Grill & Bar

Chili's Grill & Bar
Ranked #286 of 681 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Southwestern, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
534 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Seen one, seen 'em all (usually)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This Chili's is a perfect clone of several others I've been to, and the consistency is amazing. They try hard and the food is good, but won't win any awards. Today I had fajitas, and the fried onions were absolutely saturated with what I can only describe as flavored grease. I know what good fajitas are like, and this isn't it. Not terrible, but just average at best.

If you're just looking for an informal place for basic food with a southwestern flavor, you'll be satisfied. Just have realistic expectations.

One thing that I have noticed here as well as other Chili's is that there's an emphasis on good service.

This is also a place that you can bring the kids. While it isn't tailored to them in any unusual way, families at nearby tables seemed to be having a good time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    19
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
221 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It's Chilis so don't expect to be wowed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was edible. Beer selection was ok. But it is Chili's so you cannot expect a 5 star meal. The bar was fine, the music was a little loud for my taste. I like music but it made it hard to converse. The bartender was nice and had a good attitude.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
“Salmon made me horribly sick”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've never eaten at Chili's before. I went with some family members for a birthday dinner. I had the light salmon with rice and broccoli. I was so sick. I will never eat there again. :(

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 807RobynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average food at an average price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Average food, it's good but not GREAT. I so like the pick 3 meal. But that's about it. The atmosphere is good, not overly crowded. Staff is warm and welcoming.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KAMou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's Chili's and consistent as always.
Was here with family for a basketball game. A family member who plays college basketball goes to the university. After the game, we all sat down for a bite to eat on a Friday night @ around 10:30pm. Glad the place was still open and a very warm welcome.
Orders were placed relatively easy and the food was hot and server was quick. Came to about $70 bucks for 4 adult meals and 1 kids meals plus drinks. Not bad at all for price. Delicious and no hitch. In fact, we chatted for several minutes with no pressure from staff after they were closing. Good food, Good people, Good times

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rodioCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chili's Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chili's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing