We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Gateway-Diner Inc

Gateway-Diner Inc
Ranked #117 of 688 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great Breakfast. Perfect Waffles. Perfect Omlettes. Best Rye Toast I've had in years.
Home baked bread for French Toast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    17
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bland, overpriced food!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive family style resturant in the area of our hotel and thought this local diner would be promising...It was dismal. I ordered the fried jumbo shrimp at $14.99-what I got was 7 regular shrimp, butterflied, coated in so much batter I had to scrape off piles of it to find the shrimp, which was
overdone and mealy. When I registered my concern with the waiter(the few times
I saw him) he could care less. Stay away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Riotgirrl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gateway Diner”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Sunday August 5th 2012
11:43AM
My partner and I have been going to the Gateway Diner (899 Central Ave Albany N.Y 12206) for years. On the morning of, we decided to have our breakfast at the above diner. We sat at a seat that we requested and had an okay server “Sue S” who could have been more personable and more engaging. I ordered the He-Man (For thoughts of you whom know the diner). To my delight the food came out promptly and I was eager to get started. As I came to the last dish (French toast) I had noticed a small black speck. At first I thought it was burnt toast but after closer inspection it was a dead/fried Cricket! After waiting a moment (trying to control my stomach from vomiting) I took the plat to the counter. At that moment four waitresses came and asked if I was satisfied with my meal. At that moment I slid the plate to them and said NO! They also suggested it was disgusting and took the plate to management. As I wait for management to come out, the bus boy suggested (in a rude manner) that should have a seat and the waiter will come to my table. I thanked him for his suggestion and explained to him that I was fine just standing here. He then suggested a second time and I again thanked him and explained (again) that I was fine standing there. They were pleased to comp me for my meal but still expected me to pay for my partner’s meal of $7.21. As I was paying the bill, management came out and apologized for the Cricket in my French toast. At that moment I was able to tell the manager that I have been going there for year and will never be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goliath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A favorite”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This diner is probably by far my favorite diner. They are very efficient and the food is great. It may appear to be a long line, but they work pretty quickly. Everything is reasonable price-wise.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Acheens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Wow, we stopped in on our way through Albany - wish we lived closer. The breakfast pastries were amazing! Hope to be back soon,,,,, want more dessert!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway-Diner Inc also viewed

 

Been to Gateway-Diner Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing