We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'toole's Restaurant & Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O'toole's Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #115 of 681 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A great pub atmosphere that is family friendly. Great appetizers and meals at a valuable price. Full bar with 17 drafts and 60 bottles. Inside and outside seating. Over 40 Tv's for all sports and events. A St.Patrick's Day place to be. Quick Draw and OTB wagering location.
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went there for lunch. I went with a salad with chicken and dried cranberries and an apple dressing, it was really delicious. And huge! I couldn't finish the whole thing. Our waitress was nice. It felt like the food took a while even though it didn't seem too busy but maybe their kitchen is small or they don't have as many cooks on during the day. It is located in a strip mall in an area convenient to work so I will likely return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,139 helpful votes
“Patience is a virtue.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

O'Toole's is nothing if not consistent. Our family has patronized this restaurant for many years; it is a decent place to refuel and see people from our community. The bar can get roisterous on weekends and evenings, but seating near the fireplace, especially in the winter, is actually kind of nice.
The food is pub grub--some winners, some losers and most solidly in the middle of the road. Pricing is fair (the lunch specials are excellent values) and portions are fine.

Our issue with O'Toole's is that waiting for our food is like being at the start of a wet week: It...just...takes...ages...to...arrive...

We are ALWAYS seated promptly, provided with menus and beverages and then BAM. Our order disappears into a black hole. The servers are NEVER apologetic for the wait (why should they be? It's the norm there) but pleasant.

It's the place we go when we can't think of another place we'd rather go--sort of a "default" joint. Not bad, but never memorable. You could do worse, but if you're in a hurry, forget it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Lori12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Food was good. Atmosphere was good but a little noisy near the bar.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moderately Priced. Friendly Waitstaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The best aspect of this place is the waitstaff. Very friendly and professional. The food is average. Nothing spectacular. The atmosphere is pretty comfortable, except for very busy times when the place is packed. Definitely a place for those on a budget who are looking for a decent restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'toole's Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing