We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe Italia

Caffe Italia
Ranked #15 of 683 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I went here for dinner with my mother while I was in town visiting. I was craving true Italian food and Caffe Italia did not disappoint! We arrived early in dinner service and the restaurant was quiet. By the time we left, it was filling up on a cold, mid-week, December night.

The hostess made us feel welcome, the server was attentive while being unobtrusive, and the food was amazing.

I cannot wait to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djangobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    37
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
465 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The best in home style Italian!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A hidden jewel of an Italian restaurant where the locals go to find excellence in home style dining. Dined with family. All dishes were outstanding. The Sea bass Antonio was prepared to perfection, pan seared over a bed of arugula, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The Sea Bass was fresh and seared perfectly! The wine list was mainly Italian but many good values!!! Don't miss this place if you want great food in a home style setting.

Helpful?
Thank ranishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for dinner on 10-25-13 and it was pretty great. The waiter hung up our coats and seated us. The professional, mice and efficient staff worked as a team to get everyone's drinks, salads and meals out . It's a small dining room so it's a bit cramped but not badly so. The food was good and portions were large. What it isn't is cheap, but the food quality and service make it worth it in my opinion.

Helpful?
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
207 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although we've lived in the area for years, we have never frequented this restaurant until this past weekend when re-connecting with old friends for a get-together and they suggested we try out this well known institution in the Albany area. Well, besides the wonderful time we had with our friends, we all had nothing but wonderful things to say about the food as well. From the various appetizers (the artichoke appetizer was unbelievably delicious and I've never tasted anything that good before), the special veal entree which we all got (including one of the kids) and the fantastic desserts, this was a special meal from start to finish. Not to mention the good time we had experiencing all these wonderful tastes by sharing around the table and.....being that the portion sizes were so huge we all had leftovers to bring home for the next day. This will definitely be on our list of places to go for special occasions (or just a delicious Italian meal any day of the week). One thought though - definitely make reservations if you're planning to go on the weekend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sthomas0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Long time favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place proves all you need is great, fresh and authentic Italian and friendly servers to be successful. Just a simple storefront, crowded, plain old Italian entirior and fair prices have made this my all time albany favorite. Try the mussels, veal saltimbocca and any dish with their great sauce.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Italia also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing