We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese in a quiet setting”
Review of Emperor's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Emperor's
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Albany NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Chinese in a quiet setting”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've dined here many times. The service is always outstanding, the food on par with some of the best. But it's really the value that keeps us locked in on the Emperor's!!! Portions are very large for what you pay. Like getting a BOGO.
Our servers are attentive but non-distracting and remembered us after second visit.
This restaurant is rarely full and that's a plus! Less noise, faster service and an all around better dining experience than the other offerings on Wolf Rd.
If you like good sit down Chinese, you'll appreciate the Emperor's!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank spotsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Metroland doesn't lie - "best of" for years straight”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I go here all the time for lunch. $8.50 gets you out the door including tax and tip and you've had a lovely, AUTHENTIC meal, that satisfies. This food has flavor! I try and get other places to come close, by making special orders and sometimes I get lucky. Their won ton soup is a 10 with others just salty broth with blobs in it, by comparison! Get the shreaded beef with mixed veg. and spicy sauce... you'll be happy if you like spicy heat. Service is AWESOME, you have to stop them, when you are ready to go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Chinese food.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

1.More authentic chinese food is hard to find.
2.The food was less greasy than most chinese restaurants and the seafood and vegetables were so fresh and perfectly cooked.
3.very friendly service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TedCherryHill_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanoch, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT worth a visit”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Since this restaurant had vastly contrasting reviews, we decided to try it for ourselves. Big mistake!!! The food didn't reach the quality of even mediocre take-out Chinese joints, the dining room desperately needed a makeover, and that bathroom...ah, yes, that bathroom. It's amazing that health inspectors haven't yet condemned the entire operation just because of the terrible conditions in that one little room. The walls were rich with mildew and literally falling apart. The ceiling had numerous holes, and entire sections were collapsing. The sink was barely hanging against the wall and seemed to be losing its war with gravity. The floor was cracking into pieces, and debris lay everywhere. Service was prompt -- the only good thing about Emperor's -- but unfriendly. All that, while just across the road is a PF Chang's restaurant. Ah, well, we live and learn.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garrwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food - terrifying rest room”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Had a very enjoyable meal at the Emperor. I thought it was a cut above the average Chinese restaurant. Then I went to the rest room. I was falling apart. It's condition was really scary. It was enough to make me decide I would not go back there again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeper99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing