We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy breakfast with homemade bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison's End Cafe

Madison's End Cafe
Ranked #248 of 683 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast with homemade bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

First of all, this restaurant is now called Café Madison, not Madison's End Cafe. This restaurant, even with the name change, has been known for years as the place to go for a delicious breakfast. There can be quite a wait on weekends. I love their choice of fresh baked breads. They've also been known for their raspberry oatmeal pancakes,although I've never ordered them. They really know how to prepare an omelette so it's still moist (never brown on the outside). The only reason I'm giving my meal 4 stars instead of 5 is that although my omelette was quite tasty, the actual size of the shrimp used was minuscule. It had to be canned & not fresh shrimp. With that said, I'd go back anytime.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“madison end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

consistently wins best breakfast awards, also serves interesting lunch n dinner menu. small bar for cocktails. on street parking. limited parking in rear. usually a wait on weekend mornings

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast and the best place for Weekend brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is another gem of a place that I love. It is so very consistent, and that is important in a 't be my last."restaurant. I recently took a friend there for her very first visit, but she said "it won't be my last." Everything from oatmeal raspberry pancakes(one of my faves), to Belgian waffles, eggs benedict, and of course a mimosa if you are so inclined. also fabulous lunches are available. Outdoor seating is available in lovely weather. The staff is extremely attentive, and polite. Theses people also own The Point restaurant, if I haven't yet reviewed it, I will at an other time, also Juniors, great bar food and sandwiches, and pizza, and a soon to be opened Wine and beer bar. These restaurants are all on Madison Avenue next to each other. But to get back on topic, Please treat yourself and go to the Madison End Cafe. Fabulous

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on a trendy street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The offerings are plenty & thoughtful Have the usual breakfast items (as well as lunch) but then MANY others and their own spin on the standards. Good, fresh food with homebaked breads (try the walnut wheat) in a lovely romantic setting indoors & out. Small & intimate with good prices as well. Not open for dinner. Plan to visit many times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mollycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
517 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Local breakfast institution, not sure why”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

OK, the positives. It's funky. There is usually a line. The menu, even for breakfast is extensive (if you want a frittata or a tofu scramble, this is the place to come), and you can eat outside.

It is crowded, cramped, and there is nothing distinctive about the food itself. I have been several times, and I will take breakfast at one of our local great diners over this any time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison's End Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Madison's End Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing