We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lombardo's Restaurant

Lombardo's Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 681 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I would go back every weeok if I could. It s nice old fashioed Italian resturaunt that offers a variety of yummy food. Its not in the best neighborhood but worth it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank KAMou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    16
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My BF and I stayed at a nearby hotel and asked for a recommendation for Italian. Both the front desk clerk and the shuttle driver geared us toward Lombardo's. When we got there, we were not sure we wanted to go in. Not the best part of town and the outside looked a little dingy. But we went in after more coaxing from the shuttle driver and we were so glad we did! The aroma as we entered the restaurant was amazing! We were seated right away. The wait staff was very attentive and helpful as we were trying to decide what to order. We started with the fried calamari which came out hot, lightly seasoned and delicious. The BF is very picky about his friend calamari so when he started nodding and smiling after the first bite, I knew it was good. My BF ordered the pasta special: shrimp, scallops, mussels and lobster tail in a cream sauce over rigatoni. Sooooooooooo good. That was the best cream sauce I've ever eaten, hands down (OK, I was sampling his dish!) The only complaint he had was that the scallops seemed a little tough but still tasty. He also wanted to order an appetizer of the fettuccine alfredo but the waiter wisely talked him out of it as they had similar sauces and the dinner itself was HUGE. I ordered the Linguine Adriatico (shrimp, fish and white beans in a butter sauce) which was also amazing. Special mention for the italian bread with fresh garlic and olive oil for dipping. We have to be in the area again in 2 weeks and we will definitely be going back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent food and plentiful. Service is very good. Lunch is very affordable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DZsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An old favorite!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Dinner on a Monday night with no reservation and the restaurant was quite crowded. Waiter made us feel less than by quickly stating that we should never come without a reservation; he was harried and somewhat rude.Lombardo's is an Italian institution in south Albany run by several generations of family. Husband had rib-eye steak, Italian potatoes and passed on the spring mix tossed salad; he is an iceberg man and unfortunately none available..hence the 3 star rating given. I enjoyed my seafood medley, scallops, shrimp and squid on angel hair tossed garlic pasta and oil. Only complaint was baby squid was not diced and served whole; turned me off to see that. Bread from local Fiorello's bakery was warm, crusty and tasty..could not be better!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marTroy_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Albany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The food and service are always great. They have the best Fettucini Alfredo in the Capital District! The Pasta della Massaia (Fettucini Alfredo, Lasagna and Meat Tortellini) is also good. The best dessert is the Proliferites (3 small cream puffs covered in whipped cream and chocolate mousse). If you get there early enough you can probably get a table, but we always make a reservation the day before, just in case. Parking is mostly on-street, but they have a valet on the side of the building--go down the side street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lombardo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing