We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name of the place says it all!”

Grandma's Pies & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Dessert in Albany
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Established in 1976, Dave and Ron continue the Grandma's tradition of excellent meals for any occasion, friendly service and the best pies - Just like Grandma used to make! Granny's recipes prepared on the premises with old-fashioned skill provide a difference that you can taste. Homemade dinners, soups, quiches and hand-made hamburger patties of select ground beef on home baked rolls are but a few of the menu items of this unique restaurant. From our "World Famous" Cream of Turkey Soup to our 46 varieties of home baked pies to celebrating every holiday with festive decorations and coordinating uniforms, you'll feel right at home when you sit down to any meal with our family.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Name of the place says it all!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was in Albany for an event and was craving a diner style, homey big breakfast. Drove by Grandma's and had to stop. Had the breakfast special that included EVERYTHING even juice and coffee. The best breakfast potatoes ever! The place was adorable with the pies on display, country decor (was decorated, I mean seriously decorated) for Autumn. There was a lot of big party table of families, seems like a real local favorite. I hope I get to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretHF4591BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    68
    36
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mmmm very good soup and sandwich for lunch”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stopped for lunch at Grandma's in Albany and what a nice experience it was. Good friendly service. The restaurant had Halloween decorations everywhere - never saw so many decorations in one place before like that. We all ordered from their lunch menu. I really enjoyed my soup and grilled cheese sandwich. Well priced and very good. I will stop by for sure the next time I am in Albany.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This is Like Eating at Grandma's House !!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Yes, this is like eating at Grandma's house (maybe even better) ! You will not believe what your taste buds are sending to your brain...OMG...I ordered a chop steak dinner with fresh turkey soup (the kind grandma makes the day after Thanksgiving.) They also served homemade apple sauce and fresh cut/fried fries...YUM...for dessert I chose only one of the 20 plus pies available and decided on the coconut cream pie...better than my grandma could make (sorry Grammy). TRY IT...YOU"LL LIKE IT.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Supper”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

8 of us went there for supper Wednesday evening the server was very good friendly the food wasn't bad, a little pricy. less expensive meals are the special, sorry I can't remember the exact address. They also have some very expensive pies, which I believe there are known for because pies is part of their name

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnnyrebell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great down home food...and oh those pies!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When looking for comfort food that is perfectly made, nothing can beat Grandma's. the dishes are retro, and the decor is kitschy 1970's American Colonial. This Boomer loved it! Save room for dessert. The pie list is exhaustive-- the cocoanut custard pie was amazing! I would highly recommend Grandma's

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobLaurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Pies & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grandma's Pies & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing