We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Assistant Front End Manager”
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Assistant Front End Manager”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for business, the Assistant Front End Manager, Craig M. helped me with two different problems. He was very patient, listened to my concerns and offered solutions; all with a smile on his face.

Room Tip: The lobby is very up to date and welcoming. The rooms need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
DEar mjd652014,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany. It was great to read about the kind remarks you have for our Front Office Manager Craig. I agree that he is very service minded and a good listener as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    298
    178
    116
    98
See reviews for
197
147
33
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My recent stay at the Hilton Albany was definitely the best experience I have had in years.
The staff was so very accommodating, friendly and professional. It was particularly pleasant to have the shuttle services to and from the restaurant on the first evening of our visit. Brian was our driver and he was very nice.
The final 5-star credit goes to Jeff Michaelson, Manager, who personally drove me to a wedding ceremony where I was to sing the "Ave Maria" when we realized no cabs were forthcoming and the Hotel shuttles were on previous calls. i would have otherwise been late for the rehearsal.
We were in the hotel May 23-25, 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jean S,

Thank you for your wonderful Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I was so pleased to read how we exceeded your expectations in all areas of the hotel.

Our driver Brian is a fine man and an asset to our Bell Staff. Last but not least our Manager on Duty for the weekend Jeff Michaelson. Jeff epitomizes hospitality and I am very happy that you had the chance to meet him and "see him in action"

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Capital Region soon.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,953 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was in town for a convention held off site from this hotel. I picked the hotel solely to get my Hilton points. However it was a nice hotel. The rooms were nice. The view from the rooms was also quite good. I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear RovingCOO,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. It is always nice to have an HHonors member stay with us. Thank you for your loyalty to the brand. It is even more fulfilling to here that you enjoyed your stay and you found value in our service and guest amenities.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

You can tell that management is paying attention. I would never stay here in the past but the staff is paying attention to details and customer service. Rooms are very clean and even th restaurant has turned around for the better. Happy to make this a first choice on my business trips

Room Tip: ask for a view of the capital
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
DEar ksmess,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to see that we had exceeded your expectations in five of the six categories. Our team is coming together I am proud to say. Thank you for recognizing them and the efforts we are putting forth.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My experience at the Hilton Albany was extremely positive. My room, my bathroom as well as the public areas was very clean and pleasantly appointed. The staff was congenial, professional and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear James C,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We love receiving Five Star reviews !! Our goal is to exceed everyones expectations everytime. I am glad that we were able to do this for you !!

I will share this with our entire team at our Team member luncheon later in the month.

Thank you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A group of us stayed here for the weekend as we were traveling for a wedding and received a group rate. We arrived around noon and the rooms were not ready. having young children I asked if they would call me as soon as the room became available. We took the children to lunch and sure enough the woman called and said she had a room available for us. The room was very clean and so were all of the common areas. The pool was nice. The area was very large and had comfortable lounge chairs. Hot Tub was nice too. the hotel provided a free shuttle to local restaurants which was very nice and convenient with the kids. We were very pleasantly surprised by the Hilton Albany and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bid421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear bid421,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I could not be happier when I read how our Front Office team followed up with you and found you a room for an early check in. I am so glad that your family enjoyed our Pool and Spa, as well as our Complimentary Shuttle around downtown Albany.

We look forard to having you stay with us once again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Property has everything needed for groups/conferences. The banquet staff is amazing and has been for years. Food delicious and everyone friendly. In the heart of downtown Albany and close to all major modes of transit. Can host very large groups. Pool and fitness center, and a decent on site restaurant. Bar in the lobby is a great social hub and to see everyone coming & going. Hotel recently renovated and very well done.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank global2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Global2AlbanyNY,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. It was great for our Hilton Albany Service team to read that we exceeded your expectations in all areas. We "strive for a Five Star rating" and this catches our team at their best !!

Thank you for your kind words about our Banquet Staff, our guest amenities, and our Charter Restaurant and Session Lounge.

We look forward to servicing you once again.

Regars,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Property: Hilton Albany
Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing