We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Albany
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and clean. Great location easy parking for downtown. Breakfast was good. We were suppose to have an executive suite but it was just a normal room. My only complaint was the pool was cold and spa was out of order and that was one of the reasons we stayed there with the kids was to swim.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Nikki B, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you found our staff friendly and pleasant , as well as the cleanliness of our hotel. I did speak to our Chief Engineer about the Pool Temperature and he is looking into this. I was also disappointed to read that you did not receive the suite you had reserved.

Please email me directly regarding the dates of your stay as I would like to look into this further. My direct email is John.D'Adamo@hilton.com.

Thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to give you a Five Star experience for your next visit.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    292
    172
    108
    82
See reviews for
180
136
33
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was by far the worst I have ever stayed in. The staff could care less about anything and it was very insulting to be told that if it's too hot in the room to just open the window- the thermostats on the wall are just for decoration. Bathroom was disgusting as well. Never again will I stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Ryan G,

I just read your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Obviously we failed to meet your expectations. Our Heating and AC System operate with either Heat, or Air Conditioning, depending the time of year. It was unfortunate for to have received such a response. I am sorry for the remark made about opening a window. We should have sent an Engineer to assist you and check your thermostat.

I would like to speak to you further if you so choose. My direct email is below. When we speak I would like to see if we can gain your confidence and business again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Upon arrival checked into room to find it has been occupied. Bleh! Had to return to desk who had person sort of matter of fact and offered a drink as compensation. Expect that from some other chains not Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Kenneth J,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to see that you were checked in to a Vacant room which had yet been cleaned. I do apologize for this mistake and would like to speak to you more about this incident.

Feel free to email me directly john.d'adamo@hilton.com

Thank you,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A few months ago I stayed overnight at the Hilton Albany with a large trade organization. Booking my stay was so easy thanks to their Sales Manager, Brian. He was very accomodating and prompt in getting back to me with answers to my questions. Upon arrival the front desk staff who checked me in was very pleasant and the overall decor was fresh and new. My room was clean and looked recently renovated. At our conference, attendees were provided with notepads from the HIlton, pens, mints and ice water! It was a nice convenience as my pen ran out of ink. The next morning check out was a breeze. I would recommend that others choose to stay at the Hilton Albany. While doing my accounting from this trip, I realized that I am missing my receipt... Not a problem thanks to the best Sales Manager, Brian, who simply emailed me an additional copy! Top to bottom a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Melissa P,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Albany on TripAdvisor.com. I am glad that your meeting went well and that Brian Murphy assisted you during your conference. Brian truly cares for his guests and will go out of his way to insure a successful event.

Thank you for your business.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Check-in was very nice - beautiful lobby and the front desk person was friendly and even upgraded me to a suite (at 11:30 PM). However, the suite itself was not very comfortable for several reasons. Mainly, it was that I had the worst noise problem I have ever experienced in a hotel. Early in the morning I was startled awake by a loud buzzing noise, which sounded like someone was drilling right outside my door. It happened again maybe 6 times in the course of the next few hours, waking me up each time. I realized after getting up that it was coming from a vent in the room. Totally unacceptable in a sleeping room. Another problem was that there were several snafus with room service, one of which had them calling me, again waking me up, asking if they could bring my tray earlier in the morning than scheduled, me saying OK since I was up anyway at that point, and then them not even bringing it until later than originally scheduled. They were very apologetic so they get credit for that. The food was quite good though, and also very good in the restaurant downstairs. Bathroom was not exactly sparkling clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icecat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Icecat77,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am glad that your check in experience was positive and an upgrade was available. I am very sorry to hear that there was an inconsistent noise coming from your vent. I would like to know more, including the date and suite number which you stayed in. This will be helpful so that I can look into the source and correct the noise. My email address will be at the bottom of this note.

Lastly, I appreciate the positive comments about our Food quality, but do apologize for the phone call mix up in Room Service. I will address this with our Director of Food and Beverage.

Regards

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed at Hilton in Albany many times and it has always been a pleasant experience. Staff is really helpful and courteous. Food is great! And the location is good to walk to several downtown restaurants. Plus there is a Starbucks and a Rite Aid in close proximity. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Michele L.

Thank you for you recent review of the Hilton Albany. Our downtown location puts our guests walking distance from a multitude of both Dining and Entertainment venues in Downtown Albany. Additionally we are only two Blocks away from the State Capitol and Three Blocks away from the Empire State Plaza.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel was clean and what I would expect from a Hilton, but the poor service does not make me want to recommend this hotel to anyone. I was met with poor service when I checked in, and had no towels in my room to take a shower. When i tried calling someone to deliver towels I could not reach anyone by phone and had to barrow a towel from a neighboring room. Not the way you want to start your day. I have stayed at Hilton's before and was very happy with my stay, this stay I was very displeased.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Amy S,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was very disappointed to read how we failed to provide a consistent level of service to you upon arrival to the hotel. Please reach out to me if you would like to discuss this further john.d'adamo@hilton.com

Thank you again and I hope to hear from you so that we can resolve this for you for future stays.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Property: Hilton Albany
Address: 40 Lodge St, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207-2119 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing