We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - food, service, bar - and a really nice beer list”
Review of The Merry Monk

The Merry Monk
Ranked #22 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great - food, service, bar - and a really nice beer list”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in just after noon for lunch after a morning meeting. We were the only customers, but it filled in steadily. Our server (also tending bar) was terrific - friendly, prompt, attentive, knew the whole menu and made great recommendations.
We really enjoyed our barbecue Boar's ribs and the French dip was delicious - made with brisket, slow-cooked in beer with veggies. It was sliced to hold together when dipped. It is delicious. Portions were large but not crazy and we felt it was a great value for the cost. The drinks? Tall and just right. We really enjoyed our stop here and imagine it must be packed for lunch during the week, and for dinner. Again, our server did a GREAT job.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooner0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    82
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great beer, wonderful mussels”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really solid, wonderful Belgian-style restaurant. The dipping mayonnaises for the frites were amazing. The mussels were properly prepared and lovely. Sleek styling for the decor. Our service was very good, too. Can't wait to go back with the husband.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem on Pearl Street...”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I just made our second visit to The Merry Monk before a concert at The Egg (google that if you're out of town and don't know what it is).
Our drive down was sunny, but as we neared Albany it got really cloudy and by the time we parked it had started to rain. We got a table right up in front by a window and watched what soon became a downpour. This made the congenial atmosphere inside the Monk all the more enjoyable. Soon we were sipping two of the many Belgian or Belgian style beers-- a Framboise Lambic for my wife, an Ommegang Scythe and Sickle for me, with tastes back and forth of course. For some reason, my beer disappeared rather more rapidly than my wife's did, so I was "forced" to order a second. I forget the name right now, but it was unusual and delicious. LOVE those Belgian beers!
We started with the fruit and cheese platter, perhaps a tad pricey at $19, but very enjoyable. Along with some basic crackers, crusty bread and various fruits, it featured a Port Salut, an Ommegang Cheddar, and an amazing smoked Blue Cheese. We asked it's name, which is Moody Blue, and we plan on finding some for home. For our main course, we had two different mussel dishes. One was bacon blue cheese which sounded a bit over the top. Our waitress recommended it and we were glad we listened to her. Excellent! Our other dish was the Monk's Mussels-- peppers, tomato, garlic, basil, white wine, also delicious. We had some frites too, prepared nicely to our "extra crispy" specifications. The mussels come with bread to sop up the juices, and this was one of the best parts of the meal.
By now the rain had stopped, so we headed off to our concert feeling very content.
I've never been to Belgium so I can't vouch that The Merry Monk is authentic, but it sure felt European to us. We'll be back soon and often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brewerpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wow - amazing Dutch place in Albany!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Huge and very unique beer selection, amazing hot & crispy fries, wild boar ribs, and tons of mussels. Cool European atmosphere. A real treat in Albany!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duanesburg, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After a few recommendations from friends my boyfriend and I decided to try it out. It was even better then we thought it would be. The beer selection was great but we had a hard time picking just one, so we both ordered flights in-order to try multiples. We each found several choices of beers we enjoyed. For dinner we ordered 2 different style burgers and fries, both were amazing. The chef cooked the burgers exactly as we ordered them, medium-rare, and medium and the dipping sauce for the fries was so good. The atmosphere was excellent-a small-hole in the wall place put together well. We will defiently be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdykeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Merry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing