We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”
Review of Motel 6 Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Albany
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After checking in at 10pm, we left by midnight. Should have known the place was questionable as to its safety and security as the "secure" door we were to enter thru was propped open by a chair and 2 men were hanging out drinking beer by the parking lot. Just needed a place to get some sleep on a long trip, so we decided to stay. Bad mistake. Must be a party hotel or a place frequented by prostitutes. Noise from the next room was unbearable. One of the door security latches was broken, the shower head was not secured properly, the wiring coming from a/c unit looked unsafe. What a nightmare. Got our money back and left. Makes me wonder what Motel 6's standards are.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

I don't know if it was the abandoned construction lot next door, or the fact that after 10:00 PM you can't enter the lobby (you have to check-in through bullet proof glass outside), but this hotel gives off very bad vibes! There were many people standing around outside after dark and on several occasions cars would drive into the parking lot, stay for a few minutes, and then leave. There was a large woman waiting in the lobby for what I can only assume was her "client." The "non-smoking" room smelled like someone had just gone through a carton of cigarettes just before we arrived. The door did not close properly...luckily the safety lock worked. We checked out a day early just to get out of the area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

When writing a review it’s important that you offer clear, accurate information. You want to help future travelers determine whether or not a certain property is right for them. Looking back on this Hotel, I don’t think its right for anyone.

Located in a rather questionable area, combined with low lighting, this property, in desperate need of a complete overhaul, would make even the most courageous person a little nervous. This is one motel you probably would not want to check into after the sun goes down.

The hotel accepts pets which has always been a concern for me as let’s face it, this means the carpets and spreads, were at one time another, “blessed” by these furry friends. Unfortunately this property uses the old fashioned bed spreads and they are not cleaned between guests.

I’m a little embarrassed to stay I have stayed here on a few occasions when I require nothing more than a room with hot water.

I put up with everything from leaking ceilings, to hallway carpets that have never seen a shampooer to ice machines that do not work to loud screaming parties in adjacent rooms. I do so because I travel frequently and know to expect very little from an “American Budget property”.

On my last visit I arrived late in the evening to find a gang of kids, no doubt from the City, hanging around the property and lobby. They may very well have known the Desk Rep. who was working. I approached the gentleman to check in, as I have done in the past, opening my wallet to grab a credit card and tip. To my surprise he mumbled something about “a problem with his computers” and that “my name was somehow possibly confused with a person who was a ‘disturbance’ in the past”. I assured him I wasn’t the guy as I am an 8th grade Catholic School Teacher and I certainly didn’t cause any disturbance in the past. I also tried to explain to him if that was in fact the case it would have been brought up when I made the reservation several days ago. The Desk Rep. seemed to have agreed and decided he should call the Manager. Unfortunately, after a few seconds he got scared of that idea for one reason or another, got more confused, and then said “I can’t check you in”. I had to laugh as what else can you do at night when you need a room and are exhausted from a long drive?

I asked him why the management didn’t have the foresight to at least call me ahead of time with this problem? Looking back, maybe they were hoping I didn’t show so they could still charge the credit card.

So at that late hour away I went in search of another hotel room, which by the way is much easier than it sounds. What was even funnier was I found out later the hotel I ended up staying at was owned by the same company!

When I returned home from my trip I called the Home Office of Motel 6 to first request a refund on my card, and second, ask for an apology. The people at the Home Office didn’t have a clue as to what I was saying. They have never heard of such a thing and couldn’t make sense of it. They said that some of their units are franchised and they have no control over what goes on. That’s funny, I thought that was the whole idea of a “chain”. I don’t have to tell you, nobody called back with an apology.

For the above, and many other reasons, I certainly cannot recommend this Motel 6.

Room Tip: As one traveler to another - you should pass on this one ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank IslandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After being treated poorly by the front desk clerk at the Red Roof Inn, I called this Motel 6 location and was able to reserve a room for a whopping $40 cheaper. (In general, this motel was $30-$40 cheaper than the others I called, no coupon needed either). Upon late arrival at Motel 6, we were greeted by courteous service, a well-lit parking lot and clean & quiet hallways for a Saturday night. The room was very comfy both cleanliness and temperature wise. There were laundry facilities on the first floor (1.25/wash and dryer), as well as vending machines. No "extended cable" -- in fact very few channels --, but they offer Wifi (at an additional $2.99/24 hours).

This motel was a great find, it would definitely be a place we would stay at again.

Room Tip: I don't believe this motel has an elevator so reserving a room on the first floor would be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inthismoment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the past few months even though I live in the area. A little get away helps at times. The room was clean. Most of the staff was polite except for one housekeeper who was rude because we walked in front of her (guests first right?) The front desk agent was very polite. Check in was easy. I didn't see any hookers or drug dealers and I went in the back door while there. I felt safe. Disregard the other reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

As a future law enforcement agent, I had the pleasant pleasure of staying over one night. I had one night there and that was enough for me. I smoke so I obviously was given a smoking room. I went to the bathroom and there was burn marks on the side of the bathtub next to the toilet as previous motel users sat on the toilet and just left their cigarettes to burn as they wiped their tooshies. I found old Chinese food under the bed, along with dirty cups and the comforters on the bed were covered in unwashed crusty stains. So I continued with my evening and every other door had marijuana burrowing out of the doors. The woman that was cleaning rooms at night told me that I should stay in my room once it gets late and that I should park my car in the front of the motel due to robberies and tire slashings. I witnessed about 20 drugs deals within a 2 hour period. Where are the police officers and why is this allowed to happen? I went to bed early and had trouble sleeping like any normal person would staying at a place like this. I was rudely woken up at 4:00 a.m. by this obnoxious woman laughing in the room next to me. I heard a man but she was louder than ever just laughing and laughing. Then the porno began and last about 2 minutes. She then said "What was your name again" and I heard the door slam. Not to mention the new girl at the front desk told me that there are a lot of hookers that come in and out. Now think about the crusty stains all over my comforter. Howwwwwww Nicccccccceeeeee. Stay here if you need a quick fix or quickie if you know what I mean. Its a modern day brothel, unpatrolled, unbothered, and down right NASTY!!!!!!!!! But hey its cheap.

Room Tip: Like I said, go there if you are a junkie or a horny old man.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in August 2011 and although it was hardly five star, had a perfectly pleasant stay. The hotel lobby is basic and fine and the staff were pleasant enough upon check in and out. The staircases and hallways are a little dated but clean and nice enough.

The room was very spacious and the bed was huge which was great! Good TV and nice enough, basic bathroom. Nothing about the room was fantastic except the size of the bed and nothing was bad either. Bog standard hotel room which was excellent for the price. Right across the street from the more expensive Ramada which I stayed in the previous week and I would say it is almost at the same standard. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosevero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#38 of 50 in Albany
969 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
3 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
535 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Albany

Address: 100 Watervliet Ave, Albany, NY 12206-2024
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $57 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Albany 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 is located within minutes of many great attractions, including the Pepsi Arena, the Egg Performing Arts Center and the Saratoga Harness Track. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Albany Hotel Albany
Albany Motel 6
Albany Motel Six
Motel Six Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing