We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish and chips,warm and comforting surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olde English Pub

The Olde English Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Olde English Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 681 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips,warm and comforting surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Downtown Broadway is just a hundred yards or so from the theatre and the Pub is ideal for anytime beer or snacks and light meals, they have some great beers and it has a nicely old english pub interior and warm fire to welcome you from the cold, staff amf very pleasant and friendly, prices see, about right..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnGEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    31
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
México
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“You get what you are promised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The place has a very cozy ambient, it is really decorated as an English Pub. The menu is short and they strictly offer English food, which is usually not great, but if you're in the mood for it, it is very well served and has an authentic flavor. You are not going to find nachos there. Service was good. It seems to be a place where local youngsters hang out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geosune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
259 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Birthday Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you're coming here on your birthday, it's hard not to have a great time. They give you a massive tea cup full of cider/beer (your choice) and you get to have at it, in addition to whatever other tasty food or drinks you order.

The service was good, and everything was cooked just right! Will definitely come back here in the future, whether it's my B-Day or not.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Atmospheric. Worst Shepards Pie I ever ate.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stopped by after a visit to the next door CVB. Nice atmosphere. Very "pubish." Pot like pies are supposed to be a specialty. Husband's was OK but not great. Mine, a shepard's pie, was about as close to dinty more as you can get. I couldn't even finish -- and I was hungry. I really like shepard's pie but this was simply awful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic Beach, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Get place to spend time with friends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were visiting our daughter in Albany to celebrate the 4th of July and our birthdays which happen to fall on the 5th & 6th. After a pricey dinner the night before, we decided that "notch day" should be more casual and comfortable, especially on the wallet. There were 5 of us and since we arrived relatively early on a Friday night, we had our choice of seating upstairs. Loved the decor, especially the huge weather vane chandelier. Not being a drinker of beers or scotches (which seem to be their specialty), I stuck with Diet Coke, but my husband was introduced to Pickle Back shots (a shot of Jameson, followed by a shot of pickle juice) and was surprised by how good it was. Classic pub grub fair, most of us ordered fish and chips, which were good. Things started to get really loud after 10pm, as you'd expect on a Friday night, so we headed out, but would definitely visit again the next time we're in the area. Be advised they only take cash, no credit cards, but they do have an ATM machine on the premises.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Olde English Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing