We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food Decent Beers”
Review of Wolffs Biergarten

Wolffs Biergarten
Ranked #76 of 688 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Cohoes, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average Food Decent Beers”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Five adults went to dinner on a recent Wednesday evening. I forgot that they serve only beer, wine, non-alcoholic beverages so I was disappointed when I couldn't have a cocktail. However,
the pinot grigio was very good. We ordered assorted items including the pretzel, brussel sprouts, schnitzelwich, reuben, special wurst sandwich, pommes frites (why do they use the french name in a German restaurant) and more. The sprouts and fries were our favorite. Otherwise, the food was decent but nothing special. The beer drinkers enjoyed the selection. We also liked munching on the free peanuts at the tables. The casual atmosphere is loud and not conducive to conversation. Biergarten is probably best suited to the twenty-thirty year old crowd, which was the overwhelming majority of people who were there on this evening. Also, be aware that they take only CASH. Glad we had enough to cover our bill in our pockets.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rrose411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique in the Capital District”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

An amazing selection of beers and authentic German food offerings! Parking is a bit of a challenge, but all in all it's a great place!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADKMAN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great German beer selection!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

If you think you're going to order a coors light, you're out of luck.
German beer selection is great. You can get drafts in three sizes.( ok 4 but I'm not drinking a glass boot of beer)
Food was pretty good. It's nothing fancy, but it was good. Husband liked his wurst plate, I had a Reuben, liked that too.
Peanuts are available for free. Throw the shells on the floor.
Bathrooms are very clean.
European soccer on the tv. Picnic tables for seating.
We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniecat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great beers, excellent brunch and all uk soccer”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent bar with good food for breakfast and brunch and great beir selection, family friendly during the daytime and uk premier league live as well as lots of euro soccer .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnGEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and great beers.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The food is a nice German fare. Their beer selection is great. I prefer the lighte lagers, which were very tasty. However, their selection is very large and will meet all tastes.

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolffs Biergarten also viewed

 

Been to Wolffs Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing