We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Safe Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CrestHill Suites Albany
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a Safe Hotel!”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Do not stay at this hotel as it is unsafe. There are people who work at the hotel who use rooms booked by guests when they believe the guest will not be returning to their room that night.

As this hotel offers long term rates there are guests that book for extended time periods who stay only during the week. These rooms are used by hotel staff (knowing the guest will not return over the weekend). Personal items belonging to guests have been stolen and rooms left in deplorable condition.

Do not be fooled by a clean lobby and "nice" people at the front desk as there are severe internal staff problems. A background check would be the first step in getting the criminals who work at this property off the staff!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresthill, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Albany, responded to this review, February 4, 2008
As a residential hotel one of our top priorities is the safety and security of our guests. All security procedures have been reviewed and stricter procedures implemented to guarantee this safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    144
    65
    40
    40
See reviews for
165
100
24
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Due to unavoidable travel delay, arrived late, for a conference. Confirmed credit card secured reservation had been reneged, apparently by Sales Department. Alternate accomodation was aranged (we thank you!) by night staff but no manager on duty . Very disappointing.

  • Liked — N/a
  • Disliked — credit card secured reservation cancelled
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank JanMalcheski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

stayed here while visiting friends, and the place was wonderful. everyone we encountered on staff was friendly & helpful, the room was clean, well stocked & plenty spacious for two, and the price was very reasonable for a one bedroom suite. if you need to stay near campus this is a good choice.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — nothing i can think of
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We loved our stay at Cresthill Suites. We needed to be in Albany for several days and were happy to find this well reviewed hotel. We were even happier to find how great it was in person. Very bright, nice and clean, crisp looking. Don't know the age, but the lobby area looked new, it sparkled so much. The desk people were always pleasant. Loved the room. We took the studio because it seemed...not sure..but it seemed the one bedroom was the same square footage as the studio, except the one bedroom had a wall at the middle. We opted for more openness, which we personally like. We got to see a two bedroom...great looking, good space...they have TWO bathrooms. They are all like condos. Complete in themselves. It was important to us that the kitchen was full sized and complete. I've stayed at some places with 'complete' kitchens where the 'cooker' was a microwave. No problem except I wanted an oven this time. This place has a full- FULL size GE oven, upgraded microwave, full size refrigerator with an interior ice maker in the freezer. Cute, handy dining bar with chairs. So great to be able to do a number of things in one accommodation without going out for every meal if we didn't feel like it, etc.
The breakfast was basic continental...but that's pretty much what many people like anyway....even toaster waffles, toast, cereal you can take back to your room for those who are sleeping in.
We found the bed really good. The pillows were fine. The edges of the bed did not sink down from years of sitting on the sides like some hotels. We slept well.
Nothing was not working nor was anything broken. We did have a utensil holder in a drawer with a few spots on it, mentioned it, and a BRAND new one was left the next day with a nice aplogetic note. I think the key is if you have a problem, address it. At least for us, we're happier then.
There is a Sunoco gas station down the road with a little store for basic needs...dishwashing stuff, milk, etc. Crossgates Mall is nearby with good stores and 18 theater movies; Stuyvesant Plaza is near too with it's nice upscale pretty stores. We have stayed in this area when going downtown as well as nearby the Cresthill Suites...so it's location is so good...and it's services...that we'll definitely stay here when in town.
We found, as is increasingly so, their rates are competitive with those online so we felt we got an excellent rate. They do have a special at least sometimes where you get a discount if you stay a certain number of nights as well.

  • Liked — pleasant appearance, proximity, no miniatures, like a full size condo
  • Tips/Secrets — free pc, free printer, laundry, free evening light supper some days
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank explorer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2006

I booked this hotel based on reviews on this site. For the most part, they were accurate; the room was clean, the set-up of kitchen, small seating area with TV and separate bedroom and bath was great. The big problem was the bed. The mattress was like sleeping on a board covered by a sheet. The pillows were like sacks of concrete. After 2 nights in this bed, my lower back was in so much pain, I could barely stand up straight.(and I DON'T have back problems.) Both my wife and I woke up with pain in our ears from sleeping on our sides on the pillows. It was so bad that after the first night, we went to WalMart and bought pillows to make it bearable. We were forced to stay in Albany an extra night for business, but couldn't stand the thought of another night in that bed, so we checked into Holiday Inn Express, which had a very comfortable bed, and a better price. Other minor details at Cresthill were no carafe for the coffee maker, no tissues (there is always a tissue dispenser in the bathroom), and the ironing board was broken. I would not go back unless the bedding was greatly improved.

  • Liked — The room layout: kitchen, sitting area, separate bedroom.
  • Disliked — The extremely uncomfortable bed and pillows.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mongcop3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I stayed here with my teenaged son overnight. It was a nice place, very reasonably priced. The snacks in the basket and the drinks in the fridge (all free) and the bowl of mints on the coffee table were all very nice touches. I used the fitness center -- really just a handful of machines in a mirrored room, and they were okay, but the room could've used a fan. Didn't use the pool but it seemed okay if a little small (I like to swim laps.) Very convenient little store onsite that sold convenience foods. Friendly staff. The fact that the windows opened was also nice. I'd stay here again if I were in Albany. My son also thought it was a cool place to stay, although I'm sure he was charmed by the snacks & treats!

  • Liked — very clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — needed a fan in the fitness room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Attractive property. Had a great two-bedroom suite with sitting room and kitchen. Convenient to SUNY. Nice evening meal and breakfast on weekdays. Clean and well maintained.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and condition of property.
  • Disliked — Cooking odors from adjoining rooms.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CrestHill Suites Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrestHill Suites Albany

Property: CrestHill Suites Albany
Address: 1415 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1093
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CrestHill Suites Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CrestHill Suites Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresthill Suites Albany Hotel Albany
Cresthill Hotel Albany
Albany Cresthill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing