We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secret waiting to be revealed!”

Hudson Harbor Steak and Seafood
Ranked #388 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Plattsburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A secret waiting to be revealed!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We have dined several times the past two years at Hudson Harbor. I have never been disappointed in the meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, So-so food.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went here with my husband for my birthday celebration, which also happened to be during Restaurant Week. The limited menu didn't cause us any problems. We were both in the mood for beef! The silced sirloin was very tender and delicious. The sides were not up tp par. Sicled steak with bland, dry rice was not appealing. The rolls were dry and tasteless. Vegetables were a frozen mix; not tasty. Our dessert, pumpkin pie, was previously frozen and had a raw, soggy crust. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere is cozy, but the food is below average. We won't be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank winewiththat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem in Albany”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Few people know about this place. I am one of the lucky few! I've been here 3 times over the past 5 years. It's nestled in by the SUNY "castle" buildings downtown. There's a small lot in the rear for parking. It's pretty vacant downtown at night and I think that's what keeps people away. When you walk in, the atmosphere is really warm and inviting. You can settle in to a booth and have a really romantic dinner. The portions are HUGE and the food is excellent. The seafood is cooked perfectly and full of flavor.
The service was so-so, but the nice thing was that the chef (the owner's son) brought us out our food. We felt like that was a really nice touch and were impressed.
The portion sizes were really impressive and the prices were as well. I'd recommend to any of you to head out and give it a try.
2 of the three times i went there it was nice and quiet and not busy at all (friday nights too).
The 3rd time was on Valentine's day and I would not recommend it because their holiday menu was pretty weak compared to their normal one. Also the service was really lacking as the waitress couldnt keep up with the demand!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Isaiah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Holy AMAZING, Batman!”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We walked a couple of blocks from our hotel (74 State) past other restaurants because we were curious about whether we'd have an actual view of the harbor. Well, we didn't but we really didn't care. We got there around 6 or 6:30 and the place had just opened up. We were seated in a dining area by ourselves. The building used to be the ticket office for the harbor so it has a fantastic history. They have photos and paintings showing it throughout history. There are ship models all over and a general nautical theme. Quaint and cozy while still roomy.
The food was amazing. I'm not positive, but I believe our waiter was also the chef. The service was excellent regardless. Very polite, very attentive without being overbearing. The portions were big! I ate almost to the point of discomfort and it still looked like I'd hardly touched my plate! Definitely splitting a meal if I'm ever lucky enough to go back. When we were leaving to walk back to our hotel, it started raining. We got maybe 15 yards away and our waiter/chef came running out with an umbrella for us to take! It was the icing on the cake for us! Or, in this case, the whipped cream on top of the strawberry shortcake!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingShanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson Harbor Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Hudson Harbor Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing