We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory Stay for a Brief Trip if You Like Bargain Basement Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Satisfactory Stay for a Brief Trip if You Like Bargain Basement Prices”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I ended up staying here on a Priceline bid for $36 plus tax, for two nights, as I was in town for a conference and needed affordable lodging. The place is set back from the road and very modest. It wasn't the cleanest place around, though I could tolerate it for the brief amount of time I was in the room. The staff were nice and tried to help out. The free breakfast was nice though very basic as other writers have described. The waffle maker was great though and the waffles delicious, so it made it worthwhile. Free WiFi in the room was nice, and the connection was good, unlike the experience of other writers.

The room was very small and outdated, though it was neat and relatively clean I guess. The outlet and lighting situation was problematic and the TV an older CRT. The primary issue I had was that when I returned to my room the first evening after a long day of work, my key did not work and they had to reset it. Then when I went to my room (this is like 5pm) it was not made up. When I complained to the manager she said sorry but the housekeeper had gone home for the day. Nothing like going back to a small cramped room after a long day's work to have the bed a mess, the bathroom in disarray, and the morning's coffee still in the pot. And they didn't even offer me a discount or anything. Tacky.

So if your primary concern is a cheap price, this is the place for you. But as cost conscious as I am, I am not sure I would return to the Travelodge Latham. It just may be worth it to me to spend just a few dollars more for better quality.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andtherest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    178
    163
    86
    70
See reviews for
162
121
96
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had an early flight out so wanted a place close to the airport with a shuttle without having to pay alot. The room was moderately priced and the hotel was average so it suited our needs perfectly. Its right across the street from the mall so we were able to grab dinner. The shuttle driver was there when we came down for breakfast so things went off as planned. Worked for us!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherriinfreehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Spent one night at this motel recently and it was suitable for just that . This is the kind of place you stay when you're either on business and have places to be during the day, or for leisure when you just want a decent enough affordable place to sleep. No luxuries here - the room I stayed in was on the small side (king sized bed and desk were tight), as others have said the toiletries are not nice quality, and other than presumeably newer comfy mattresses and shiny new bathroom faucets, the decor is slightly dated. I am a clean freak and the place was clean enough for me. Clean sheets, clean (but older) towels, and clean bathroom. DIdn't get to try breakfast because I slept in on a Sunday morning. Efficient check in and check out, good parking, and convenient location. Most importantly VERY quiet except when a couple of loudmouths entered their room just past midnight and let the door slam behind them. (I never get that people don't understand how loud the doors and acoustics are in these corridor type hotels-no one
ever seems to try to make as little noise as possible - inconsiderate!)
If you want the best bang for your buck in the Albany/Colonie area (under $60) and need just the basics stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maude79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The place first of all is great value! We got ours in booking.com and was very pleased.

Its about 10 minutes from the airport. Having arrived late at night, we had to take the cab from the airport. It costs us 17.00 USD total (3 people plus 5 enormous luggage, a carseat and a big size stroller). If it were only one person the trip is 8 bucks. Hotel offers shuttle but you need to book it in advance and its only available from 6am-6pm.

Rooms are clean, beds are comfy. There is cable TV. Bathroom is very decent and clean. You also have an iron and hair dryer in the room.

Breakfast includes waffles, muffins, English muffins, coffee, OJ, cereals. I should say its not a whole lot of variety but for the price...its pretty good.

There is a computer with printer in the small welcome area. Free Wifi.

Staff is friendly and very helpful.

Its right across the Colonie Mall where they have Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, Barnes & Noble, Macy's, Sears. Next door to the hotel is ToysRUs and BabiesRUs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I expected a Travelodge to be very basic, but was pleasantly surprised by this location. The room could easily have been in a 3 star hotel. Newly remodeled, comfortable beds, very clean. Literally across the street from the Colonie Mall, which is also an upcoming place with good restaurants, LL Bean, Borders and a good movie theater. The staff was friendly and the manager is very eager to please guests. All in all - great motel - great location - will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann13820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charente Maritime
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is a basic roadside hotel with clean and comfortable rooms .We arrived late after driving up from Newark airport on the way to Montreal. We were greeted pleasantly by the front desk staff (owners?) who checked us in to a ground floor room after seeing the amount of luggage we had - a nice touch - and gave us info about restaurants still open within walking distance at that time of night ( 10:30 p.m).
As one reviewer has already pointed out, there was a floral disinfectant smell when we got to the room, but nothing unbearable. The room was sufficiently clean, a decent size and had comfortable beds and a reasonable bathroom. We had a good night's sleep despite looking directly onto the carpark. It must be mentioned that the hotel is set quite far back from the main road, and is sheltered from the interstate be trees, so we were not disturbed by traffic noise at all.
The included breakfast was very basic ( the coffee was like sock juice) , and served in polystyrene. What's the point of doing the 'save water and soap - and hotel running costs !?- by not changing your towels every day' thing in the rooms if you're as uncommitted to environmental issues as to chuck out hundreds of plastic cups and plates every year ? However, it served our needs ( apart from a lack of a caffeine kick start) and let us get on the road again quicker.
All in all, this is a decent place for a very decent price if all you're looking for is a place to stop overnight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The rooms are quiet and the beds are comfortable. Close to mall and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The morning we were checking out our car would not start - the battery had died. The manager went out of his way to help us jump our car.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
0.4 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
506 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
0.3 mi away
Express Inn & Suites
Express Inn & Suites
#23 of 50 in Albany
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany

Property: Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
Address: 42 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location, AAA Approved, Friendly Staff, Albany Airport, State Capital, SUNY, RPI, Siena College, Saratoga Race Track, Cooperstown & many Hospitals are only minutes away. Colonie Center Mall accross the street...Regal Theaters, Barnes & Noble, Macy's, Sears, Christmas Tree Shop, LL Bean, Cheesecake Factory, PF Chang's, Buca diBeppo, Chile's, Hooter's, IHop and Dunkin Donuts are all with walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Inn & Suites Albany Hotel Albany
Albany Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing