We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - Absolutely Perfect”
Review of The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark - CLOSED

The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Trent Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Amazing - Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a block away and the wine bar was suggested. Friendly greeting and we were impressed with the wonderfully restored building. Very intimate. Not just an amazing Wine Spectator endorsed wine list, but nice beers on tap! Food was imaginative and nicely presented. We will go back whenever we visit Albany.

Helpful?
2 Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I had a date night and we ventured to try a new place. This place had the perfect cozy atmosphere perfect to have great wine and be able to have a great conversation! The staff is fantastic and very knowledgable!!!...The price is a bit on the high side but well worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scallops were out of this World!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Grilled diver scallops were out of this world! One of my favorite restaurants in the Capital District. Cozy atmosphere, great food. You also must try the braised lamb shank... excellent!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A cozy respite on a brisk, winter night!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Wine Bar and Bistro is a gem. The staff is very friendly and attentive, and a neat function of their wait staff is that no single server 'owns' a table; rather everyone helps one another out. Some patrons may find this style less appealing as it may not allow for a more intimate relationship with their server, but I can attest that each staff member treated us with respect and gusto. The wine list is extensive, although not all wines are available by the glass. The food is magical. Fans of desert must try the challah bread dessert which is one of the chef's specialties. The fireplaces, exposed wood beams and cellar atmosphere coupled with fantastic food and serve make for one of Albany's coziest bars. Those coming in a group be warned! It's not a big place. Groups of 5 or more may struggle for space! It's a venue best suited for couples and small parties up to 4 patrons. All in all, highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maveric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A charming little place, warm and friendly, with excellent food. The pork cheeks served over garlic lentils and chard were wonderful as was the free range chicken main followed by the Barbarone dessert (so good!). We only had 2 nights in Albany and let so lucky to find this restaurant. The wine list was also excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing