We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You simply must try this place”

Grappa '72 Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional/Contemporary Italian Cuisine, affordable entrees, great service, and the atmosphere is sure to please.
greenville
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You simply must try this place”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had a business meeting and was taking a client to dinner. Based on reviews here I decided to give it a try.
Although this restaurant is basically located in a strip mall you will be very pleasantly surprised.
There Pasta Fagiola soup is surperb. My understanding is it is made fresh daily. Although I asked for a cup, I think I could have fed three people . I would really say get a salad and this and you would be fine.
Last night they had a pasta and shrimp special that was so flavorful. I regretted that I was traveling and could not take home the very large amount in my dish that I could not finish.
None of my dining party had room left for what looked like equally amazing desserts, although I did have a decaf Cap and it was perfection in a cup.

The décor was well done and the atmosphere was great if you are trying to conduct business.
If you are staying on Washington at any of the hotels there it is just a little over five minutes drive .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burtontps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    62
    28
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Start to finish the food was very good. Appetizers (proscutto and arugula, portobella, calamari) were all very good (friends said the portions were smaller than in the past). Salmon, risotto with seafood, veal, vongole, all were delicious. Good wine list and the server knew his stuff. First time trying Grappa, Ill say it was interesting! We were a bit crowded at the first table and people occasionally had trouble getting past our table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marktheshark027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service shines and food is fine dining”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Armand, the owner, knows how to train his waitstaff. It's a classy, yet down-to-earth, place. The food is very good, and the service is exceptional. There is no "Hi, guys!" indelicate familiarity. Everyone seems to care that you enjoy yourself. This was my 4th time, and it was always great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing Mistakes”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

So, we went to dinner here for a family birthday. Loved the ambience, jazz music, and bread. Ordered our meals.. So excited until they forgot mine and my brother in law's salad... Okay it happens- but we were spending a lot of money and a sincere apology would have been nice or a check in from The manager. Instead it seemed like they didn't want to call attention to it. I wanted to love it but got my meal well into everyone else's meals. When you are spending close to $300 this is a bummer. Give me a salad while I wait or a sincere apology... I didn't complain because It was a special occasion, but if your servers can't remember the order they should write them down not try to commit it to memory. Needless to say I don't see a reason to return when there are plenty of great Italian restaurants to go to in Albany.

Helpful?
2 Thank momofone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slate Hill, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Dining in Albany”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The restaurant's atmosphere was not only warm and inviting, but the staff was welcoming and helpful. We called ahead for reservations for a table in the back. The staff accommodated our request and the table selection was perfect. We had gone there at a friend's recommendation and what a great find! The food was excellent. I could eat there a couple times a month. If in the Albany/Troy area, I would recommend a dinner at the Grappa '72.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyrrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grappa '72 Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Grappa '72 Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing