We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Lovely Surprise!”

Grappa '72 Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional/Contemporary Italian Cuisine, affordable entrees, great service, and the atmosphere is sure to please.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a Lovely Surprise!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary with a wonderful dinner at Grappa '72. It's located at the end of an ugly strip center, but don't let that turn you off or you'll be missing out on a great experience. We were greeted warmly and shown to our table. The wait staff was warm and couldn't do enough for us. There were several specials but it only made it more difficult to select from the tempting choices on the menu. Our party ordered duck, seafood, and veal, and each person raved about their meal. The recommended wines were also fantastic. The bread was warm and plentiful. And save room for dessert. This is a gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    62
    29
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loudonville
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Welcoming Atmosphere, Delicious Flavors, Attentive Service”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

From the warm welcome upon our arrival (our host even recognized us from previous visits) to the decadent pistachio tartuffo dessert, we enjoyed another pleasing dinner at one of our favorite and most reliable restaurants. The calamari appetizer was large enough to share with others (2-4 even, depending on one's appetite), crisp and tasty. I ordered one of the specials, veal scallopine and my husband had the chicken alla cacciatore: both generous flavorful portions with plenty of meat and delectable vegetables. Our servers were knowledgeable and attentive about the use of our "coupon," wines, options and seeing to our needs. We are pleased that there is finally a restaurant in Albany where we can rely on fresh delicious foods, excellent service and a mellow atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chezjoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good surprise!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had the best bruschetta I've ever eatten. Even in Italy I didn't find one like that. Ask for a classic chianti wine by the glass. It's awsome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauloAngelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We took my wife's niece and husband out while we were visiting. This restaurant looked interesting on Trip Advisor so off we went. Nice reasonably priced wine list and a nice selection on the menu. We all enjoyed our meals although my bolognese sauce could have been seasoned a little more. High quality overall and large portions. Service was very good.

Helpful?
Thank HalVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Vitello alla '72 and Vitello Con Fico are fantastic. Our waiter was extemely knowledgeable, really seemed to take an interest in the dishes he was serving, friendly and attentive.They have a solid wine list and it may be best to stick with one of their stocked items, as the bar's mojito was on the disappointing side. Overall, a gem in a somewhat sketchy plaza.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NKNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grappa '72 Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing