We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique...Delicious...Fabulous!!”

New World Bistro Bar
Ranked #2 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unique...Delicious...Fabulous!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Didn't expect to find this kind if restaurant in Albany, but were so impressed with everything about it. There were so many interesting and unique things on the menu, we could come back 10 times and probably still not try everything we wanted. We enjoyed the bone marrow, corned beef tongue sliders, Brussels sprouts 3 ways, and the incredible eggplant meatballs. Wow! The only negative was the noise level. We could barely hear each other.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    132
    39
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere and menu”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

What a nice find. The eggplant meatballs, veggie gumbo and pizza were unlike anything I've ever hsd. Food was a little spicy but perfect for us. The waiter was very attentive. I didn't get a chance to ask about the history of the building but there is a unique painted door by the restrooms.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineFL221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent, unique food! Very loud atmosphere though.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The menu is so diverse, ranging from $-$$$ depending on what you want. Simple sandwiches, pizzas and extravagant dishes all on the same menu. The variety of food is excellent, very exotic dishes. They are known for their spicy food, but they are more than happy to tone it down for wimps like me, and they even have a "richter scale" so you can tell them exactly how hot you want it. I have tried a few different dishes and have not been disappointed.

My only complaint is that it is so LOUD there. I've been on Friday and Sunday nights and it was so loud you had trouble talking to your table-mate. I'm actually a young adult and even I was annoyed by it. So much so that I personally will only go there on weeknights now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Can't say too much about NWBB. We partook of some small plates and all were great. Try the Saigon Street Calamari for those with an adventurous palate. We had one complaint, told the waiter, who did a great job, and the manager came out right away to ask us about it. A minor problem which did nothing to detract from our experience. Every restaurant should react with such alacrity. Thanks to all. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papadan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Varied food, great for vegetarians and vegans alike. Great specials. Nice bar, Be sure to make a reservation as most nights it is packed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank plr1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New World Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing