We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian”
Review of Katrinella's Bistro - CLOSED

Katrinella's Bistro
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This cafe reminded me of one I visited in Rome. The generous portions and the 3-5 course meal, brought out by friendly staff, and delicious at the same time. A great place for the whole family.

Helpful?
2 Thank Philip316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    15
    9
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany NY
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a very cozy, authentic Italian restaurant. Reservations a must for the scheduled seatings. There are just a few tables available. The food is some of the best (and I've been to Italy), and they have a reasonably priced, great wine list. Very ample portions. In a sketchy part of Albany, but there is a parking lot nearby.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank global2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Albany hands down”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I go here whenever possible. The food is delicious and it is well priced for the quality of food and service. The bread and oil sauce they give in the beginning is out of this world. My favorite entree is Chicken Katrinella's, but you cannot go wrong with any dish here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawn q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Went there a couple of weeks ago and the food was amazing!!! The food was hot, the service was exceptional, the atmosphere was quaint..Everything about was excellent. I will be going back there this weekend with some friends. The menu was a variation of whatever Italian combo you can think of. Everyone in our party was very pleased - and we took home lots of leftovers. I don't think they charge enough for what you get!!!! Definately four stars!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schodack, ny
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easy to miss, hard to forget”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Tucked between restaurants with a long repurtation, Katrinella's is easy to miss, but it has the best food in this "Little Italy" part of Albany.

Helpful?
1 Thank joe-grimaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing