We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favorite for lunch”

The Standard Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Standard Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 688 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: American, African, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Walking Distance from the CDTA Crossgates Mall stop.
Description: The Standard is known for its straightforward, classic American cuisine, prepared using home-cooking techniques with fresh, local ingredients purchased daily. The Standard’s menu features over 100 items that will be sure to have something for everyone. “Our menu revolves around ‘classics’ or ‘standards’ restaurant goers have come to know and love, yet with our own unique twist; upscale comfort food. We have popular & unique appetizers ranging from Macaroni & Cheese to our signature entrees such as Horseradish Crusted Filet Mignon and “Forever” Braised Short Ribs. In addition, we offer a variety of fresh chopped salads and gourmet sandwiches.
Woodstock, Ny
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Favorite for lunch”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Standard is a favorite place for lunch whenever I go to Crossgates mall. Very nice atmosphere, comfortable, good service. I really like the menu; it's quite varied and I've always been pleased with the food. The salads are especially good and the portions large, including the drinks. I feel the prices are quite reasonable. A really good value and always enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    127
    31
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great locally-owned restaurant (in a mall!)”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent one night in Albany and happened upon this restaurant in the Crossgates Mall. We entered because it was something different from the typical chains. It turns out the restaurant is locally-owned which is our preference.

The menu is extensive, and the inside is nicely decorated with photos of old actors and singers. (They are also on the menu.)

Service was prompt, prices were reasonable and we enjoyed the food. I would eat here again, given the chance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner for a "mall" dining experience.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family ate here on the recommendation from our hotel concierge. The food was excellent and the menu choices were extensive. We entered around 6:30PM on a Friday evening and expected a long wait. We were told there was a 25 minute wait to be seated so we settled into their oversize leather chairs in the bar area. Within 5 minutes we were approached with news that there was a table for our party of 5. This was a great way to begin our experience. Things just got better as the menu was engaging and the food all full of flavor and visually appealing. The ample portions and tasty creations made the experiences one we would repeat if we find ourselves in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collegemom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoharie, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A lot better than expected”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Located in Crossgates mall so was expecting the usual chain restaurant rubbish. But the food was really good. Good selection of drinks, including decent looking cocktails. The inside of it was quite classy. I actually felt a bit under dressed in my shorts, t-shirt and flip flops. Would definitely go back if looking for food whilst doing some shopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went here latish one Sunday evening when not much else was open and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Its standard American fayre, nothing exotic but very nice and decent portions, served in a timely way. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Standard Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing