We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsch cake”

Cheesecake Machismo
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Albany
Price range: $5 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Ithaca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Kitsch cake”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is a little hole in the wall decorated with comics and B-movie art. It's a fun spot, especially if you like cheesecake. I had the brown sugar cinnamon cheesecake, someone else in our party had the last piece of chocolate chip cheesecake (curses, foiled again). They have lots of interesting flavors like brown cow: coffee cheesecake with a chocolate crust, but since we got there right before closing there were only a few kinds left. The two flavors I tried were good, not the best I've ever had, but tasty. And fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good lunch”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

stopped and had lunch a few weeks back---little pricey but good food---had always heard about the place but never tried it---we didnt make dinner but had lunch--service was a little slow but she was pleasent---not sure if i would go back for lunch though---we felt a little rushed

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mongeau141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh. My. Goodness.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Yummy isn't the start of it. All single batch pies. All different flavors. Small place. Pies to go. Try the meemaw if it's currently offered- same with the S'more. Slice and drink 5 bucks awesome!
Lynn and Bam have really created something special. Pies to go for holidays have replaced the pies from the old Debbie's Kitchen as the 20-30 something contribution to holiday tables. Sometimes busy at stateworker lunchtime. Park up near Lark to walk down, and walk off pie going back up. Doubles nice w lunch at Bomber's Burritos. Shouldn't miss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6number6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Expected”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was not prepared for how tiny this place is. One and a half tables, a counter, and space for about four customers to wait to order. A menu board lists the types of cheesecake available on that particular day. We opted for the half a cheesecake to go so we could try six different kinds. One was excellent, one very good, and the rest just average. Their unusual special creations were better than the more normal kinds. Despite an ever growing line, the clerk took forever to dish up the cheesecake. But he was pleasant and helpful and even wrote the name of each slice on the top of the box in different colored felt tip pens. I'm glad we weren't in a hurry.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susanarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you don't like cheesecake, you will now! If you like cheesecake, you'll think you've gone to heaven!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Let me preface my review by saying how much I actually despise cheesecake. Always the same "New York" style cheesecake with no pizazz and if you're lucky enough, you might just get a gross maraschino cherry to top it off. Yuck!

But never fear, Cheesecake Machismo is here to the rescue!

OMG these cheesecakes are to die for. A sweet tooth junkie's dream! You can order whole pies of one flavor, a wheel of different varieties or a slice with a coffee or soda is just $5. But do call ahead to make sure they're not sold out that day because this hidden gem will disappoint when you're craving that cheesecake goodness! Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheesecake Machismo also viewed

 

Been to Cheesecake Machismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing