We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Good as Expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheesecake Machismo

Cheesecake Machismo
Ranked #1 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Albany
Price range: $5 - $44
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was not prepared for how tiny this place is. One and a half tables, a counter, and space for about four customers to wait to order. A menu board lists the types of cheesecake available on that particular day. We opted for the half a cheesecake to go so we could try six different kinds. One was excellent, one very good, and the rest just average. Their unusual special creations were better than the more normal kinds. Despite an ever growing line, the clerk took forever to dish up the cheesecake. But he was pleasant and helpful and even wrote the name of each slice on the top of the box in different colored felt tip pens. I'm glad we weren't in a hurry.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susanarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you don't like cheesecake, you will now! If you like cheesecake, you'll think you've gone to heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Let me preface my review by saying how much I actually despise cheesecake. Always the same "New York" style cheesecake with no pizazz and if you're lucky enough, you might just get a gross maraschino cherry to top it off. Yuck!

But never fear, Cheesecake Machismo is here to the rescue!

OMG these cheesecakes are to die for. A sweet tooth junkie's dream! You can order whole pies of one flavor, a wheel of different varieties or a slice with a coffee or soda is just $5. But do call ahead to make sure they're not sold out that day because this hidden gem will disappoint when you're craving that cheesecake goodness! Yum!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
157 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong, order one of everything!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

When you go here, make sure you grab the brochure that lists all the flavors and start checking them off as you try them! The amaretto is scrumptious, and the chocolate flavors are rich and satisfying. You can get one slice or mix and match for half a cake or full cake. Fun! They don't have the same flavors everyday, so expect a surprise every time. And the owners are funky and down to earth. They make you feel like part of the cheesecake family! My only complaint is that it's not all that welcoming to eat there, but you can.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smsg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good cheesecake, not a place to sit and eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

The cheesecake is good for sure. I would not eat it at the restaurant, which is extremely tiny and hot in the summer. There are only 1-2 tables and it's so close to the staff you feel like you're sitting with them. I would get it to go. Do not get the coffee for $1 more especially the iced coffee which is terrible. But there are lots of interesting flavors of cakes and they're very good.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashleypokey361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most god-send deliciously homemade cheesecake anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

I'm going to start off by stating that I do NOT like cheesecake. I am a HUGE junk food junkie and cheesecake was never my thing. The only cheesecake I LOVE is Cheescake Machismo. Creative and unique homemade cheesecakes. Call to find out flavors of the day and make sure they're not sold out. Yeah, they're that good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheesecake Machismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing