We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scottish Inn Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scottish Inn Albany
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I basically concur with the past few reviews though I've seen worse. It was listed as a two-star but didn't even have shampoo. Tissue holder apparently had been empty since 1983. The bottom step of the stairwell leading to second floor was propped up with wood and bricks. I wish I had a camera for that one. I forget the rest of the problems. Hotwire downgraded them and gave me a future credit. That satisfied me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    3
    10
See reviews for
4
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
long island new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Dirty, smelly..do not go here. Booked through discount Hotwire "secret deal" which mentioned name brand hotels...ended up with this and they would not refund. Hotwire told us to go and check it out and if not acceptable to call them then. They did not stand up to their word. Wanted us to try another room in same place. Spider webs, cigarette butts...trash on the steps. Yuk!
I have photos, but you wouldn't want to see them!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank sheransam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Purchased through HOTWIRE, those crooks; pulled up to check in and was totally creeped out by the single 2 cars in the entire parking lot, one of them being a van w/o windows ???, and the one group of two men leering down at me from the top balcony. That was the ONLY sign of life. Place was awful. Sleep in your car before you sleep here. Any review that says it is cozy is nuts! NOT safe. Not even sure why they are in business unless they are looking for "hourly" guests. Currently on my 3rd phone call and 2nd email to Hotwire for them to refund me and make this right. I'm not hopeful and will never use the Hotwire service again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cara-annapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

This hotel is simply terrible: dirty, poor service, uncomfortable... We were supposed to have a fridge and there was none, therefore we complained at the front desk. He brought a small fridge and when we opened the door it was full of mildew and totally disgusting. Don't go there!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank True_Montrealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2005

Where to start? I selected this hotel based on the amenities listed for their rooms.

Room amenities listed included: satellite TV, cable TV, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, microwave, refrigerator, shower/tub, etc.

On my confirmation, it lists it as a double smoking with micro/refrg/clock radio, satellite TV, hair dryer.

Upon entering my room, I was very unhappy to discover that the only things actually in the room as advertised were the hair dryer, TV and clock radio! There weren't even ashtrays in what was supposed to be a smoking room. Upon further checking the room, I noticed garbage in the dresser drawers - soda bottles, cans, paper, etc. The bathroom had NO toilet paper and no tissues either.

I called the front desk to hear that all the other amenities are for specific rooms only. I explained that on MY confirmation, it's listed as being selected. They offered a different room and said it was smoking. It actually had the microwave and refrigerator. But again, no ashtrays, no toilet paper and no tissues. I had to call the front desk and request those items.

The carpeting was dirty and stained. There had been holes in the walls that had been poorly repaired and had never been painted over. The curtains didn't close completely unless pinned, leaving the entire room open to view from the exterior walkway. The airconditioning only worked intermittently and sometimes not at all. The hot water in the bathroom habitually changed temps during a shower.

On the upside, the bed was clean and the linens were in good shape.

Outside of that, this was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in.

As far as location, it's close to Wolf Road and various shopping there, so that's a plus.

Overall, you would do much better reserving a hotel elsewhere for the amount you'd pay for a room here.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
0.4 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Albany

Property: Scottish Inn Albany
Address: 1384 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-5115
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scottish Inn Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Scottish Inn Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing