We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a bit costly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I normally stay elsewhere when in The room was very clean and well maintained.

The bed was super comfortable and I slept like I was floating on a cloud.

I was pleasantly surprised to find a Keurig coffee maker in the room. While I think they are wasteful it was nice to try one out.

It was nice to see that the bar supported the wines of the Finger Lakes area.

For the cost I would have liked to have had breakfast included. I normally stay at the very nice Holiday Inn Express in Latham for a lower cost and free breakfast.

I would stay here again but only if the rest of the team was as well. Otherwise I would stay elsewhere to save a few dollars and receive a free breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank robinwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 840 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Late flight arriving into Albany, and the hotel was clean, with friendly and alert desk staff, and quiet and comfortable room. Whew! Very relaxing. After a long travel day, the last thing I wanted was any surprises or hassles, and it was so nice to get straight up to my very nice room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This Hilton Garden Inn is immediately adjacent to Albany International Airport, but tucked into a nicely-landscaped wooded lot. The property seems to be very well sound-proofed; planes taking off and landing directly overhead are wholly inaudible inside the building.

The front desk was well-staffed, and the personnel were friendly, efficient, and helpful. The housekeeping staff, as always in this chain, was friendly and excellent at their jobs. This property would have been rated five stars, except for an extremely unpleasant experience in the hotel restaurant that evening.

Our waitress was brusque and not terribly helpful, attentive, or pleasant. She managed to drop a fully-loaded tray of drinks three feet from our table, with the end result of spilled beer, wine, and a lot of broken glass that just managed to miss us. Our waitress neither apologized for the noise and mess, nor did she offer to reseat us at another table. She was rude to the poor gentleman from the kitchen who was summoned to clean up the mess she had made. To top off the evening, one of our meals was burnt on the bottom, indicating that the kitchen staff is not attentive to their jobs.

As has been the case at a number of other HGIs we have stayed in recent years, general management seems to not be very adept at hiring competent kitchen and dining room personnel. This is really too bad, because they seem to do an excellent job of hiring and training the rest of the hotel staff. In all fairness, the breakfast that we had the next morning in the same restaurant couldn't have been better. The cooked-to-order items were the best we have had in any HGI in recent memory, and the waitress was friendly and solicitous. Which simply goes to show that it can be done.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Got in to Albany in the evening after a long flight and didn't feel like driving home. Booked this room on the spur of the moment. Front desk staff were very friendly when I arrived and gave me all of the information I needed regarding the hotel. Even got me a wine glass for the wine I purchased at the desk. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I ordered room service and it came quickly and the food was very good. The only negative is that cleaning staff knocked on the door at 8:20am.....not a major thing but kinda early to be knocking to clean the room. All in all a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starling63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Close to the Albany airport, it provides the best service in the area. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The food is good and well presented. I always stay here when working or shopping in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

When I stay in Albany I really like staying at the Hilton Garden Inn across from the airport. It really is an undiscovered gem in the category of "airport hotels." It is always extremely clean, it is quiet, upscale, and the people who work there are top-notch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We picked this location so we could be close to the airport and still have a nice place to stay. We enjoyed the pool/hottub as well as the great breakfast. We arrived late but were greeted by a nite staff that was friendly and helpful. We look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Address: 800 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#5 Family Hotel in Albany
#6 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $111 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the exceptional service of the redesigned Hilton Garden Inn® Albany Airport. Our first class New York hotel is surrounded by the Adirondack Mountains and is just a half mile from the Albany International Airport. We offer our valued guests complimentary airport shuttle service and onsite parking. Whether you’re here for business, a wedding or a leisurely New York getaway, you’ll appreciate our ideal Albany location near area universities and New York youth sports venues. Guests staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel also enjoy easy access to downtown Albany, the National Baseball Hall of Fame, Saratoga Race Course and Times Union Center.Our Albany airport hotel offers refreshed accommodations, warm hospitality and thoughtful amenities. The modern concept at our beautifully remodeled hotel includes private seating areas equipped with LCD TV's, an outdoor patio featuring a fire pit, a chic new restaurant with a one of a kind menu and a trendy lobby perfect for gathering with colleagues, friends and family. The Albany, New York Hilton Garden Inn creates an atmosphere perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany
Albany Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing