We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner, lovely setting, professional waitstaff..a do again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Creo Restaurant - CLOSED

Creo Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fuller Road
New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great dinner, lovely setting, professional waitstaff..a do again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Tuesday is date night. We went to Creo and found it a wonderful dinning experience. Kudos to Chef David Gibson and his staff. Service was great and the food was even better. We enjoyed the calamari, fish tacos and short rib. The pomegranate martini was lovely. Beer selection was fine as well.

We were welcomed by an attentive hostess and seated promptly. Drinks were delivered promptly. The most difficult part of the evening was choosing what to order.

We will definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creoteam, Owner at Creo Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sallad13:

Thank you for choosing Creo for date night. We are thrilled to have provided a great experience. Chef Dave, Vanessa, and Jonny O' are absolutely committed to providing the best dining experience in the Capital Region, and it's great to hear reviews like yours. Please always let us know how we can enhance the experience for you.

We are working on our Spring/Summer menu, and we intend to continue to "make it difficult to choose what to order."

Thank you again for your patronage and for the great review.

Sincerely,

Brian White, VP White Management and Creo Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    36
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Lobster Avocado Tart (plus lots of gluten free items)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a leisurely late lunch with Mom today. Service was excellent, food was fantastic. We noted our food allergies before ordering (Mom is gluten free and I can't eat peppers). The waitress thoughtfully pointed out the items on the menu that can be made gluten free (pizza, pasta dishes). She thoughtfully brought us some GF bread for the table (as well as some for me). Mom's Black & Blue salad was great - very fresh, steak cooked perfectly, lovely bleu cheese. I splurged on the lobster bisque (since it did NOT have peppers for a change) and the Lobster Avocado tart - which was heavenly. Ate it all, every bite, although was nearly too full to finish. Only disappointment - no room for dessert - which I know to be excellent there. Great job Creo! Thank you!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UpstateGolferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creoteam, Owner at Creo Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Upstate Golfer Girl,

Thank you for the awesome, five "star" review. Creo is dedicated to providing great food and great service to our guests. We were early adopters of the Gluten-Free menu options, and this is an extension of White Management's commitment to listening to guests and responding appropriately. We are fortunate to have a team in the kitchen and on the floor who really care about helping our guests navigate a dining experience on their own terms.

Thank you for dining with us. Please always let us know how we can make Creo the best experience for you.

Sincerely,

Brian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Find in a strip mall.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Best lobster bisque we have ever had. Chopped salad was delicious. Fasinating menu. We will definately be back to try other entrees. Excellent service in an elegant setting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creoteam, Owner at Creo Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Bill C.

Thanks for the great review. We will be changing to our Spring/Summer menu as the weather warms, so we'll have another fascinating menu for you to sample. Please always let us know how we can improve the guest experience.

Sincerely,

Brian White, VP White Management and Creo Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Upscale, Trendy (Pricey) Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The atmosphere in Creo reminds me of being in a chic Manhatten restaurant. The food choices were varied and we all were happy with our choices (I recommend the sea bass!), and if we didn't like the sides that came with our dinner choice, our waiter was very accommodating at changing them to what we would prefer. The staff were all friendly, helpful...overall, outstanding! All that said, Creo will be a place we will go only for special occasions, not the casual dinner out, because it is, in our opinion, a very expensive night out. For our party of 5, with only entrees, 1 shared salad, 1 shared appetizer, a bottle of wine and 4 drinks, our bill was over $60 per person. I really DID feel I was Manhatten!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HokieGal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creoteam, Owner at Creo Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear HokieGal:

Thank you for dining at Creo and for the really nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed all of your entrees, but the best compliment is that the staff were friendly and accommodating. We are fortunate to have retained a sincere group of folks who really care about providing a great guest experience.

Regarding pricing, it's true that one can spend a lot at Creo, but it's also true that one doesn't have to. Chef and I have worked hard to provide a menu with some beautiful high end items, but we have also tried to bring value to the Creo menu with pizzas, pastas, and salads. Your comment is a good reminder of the need for value-oriented specials to round out the offerings.

Thank you for the great feedback, and we look forward to taking great care of you soon.

Sincerely,

Brian White, VP White Management, Creo Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here many times and the food is always good. It's my favorite restaurant to visit in the summer when they have the two patios open. The service is consistently good. Recently we forgot our leftovers and when we remembered and went back 15 mins. they had already tossed them but they made it up with a gift card. That gesture will keep us coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BTL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creoteam, Owner at Creo Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear BTL2010:

Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate your continued patronage, and we appreciate the great feedback.

Sincerely,

Brian White, VP White Management and Creo Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing