We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit was as good as the first”
Review of Morgan State House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morgan State House
Ranked #1 of 6 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return visit was as good as the first”
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Charming and comfortable; friendly staff, reasonably priced. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Liked — Charming restored building; friendlt satff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Builder54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    84
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
161
50
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southington
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2008

From the time we entered till the time we left we were treated like family. Spotless rooms well decorated. The staff did everything possible to make sure our stay was great. We will make another trip back just to stay at this wonderful guest house.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HobbsSouthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We have just returned from a three day weekend get-away at The Morgan Statehouse. We were very impressed with the understated elegance, charming comfort, and excellent service we experienced. With a view of picturesque Washington Park , the Inn is a stroll from shops and restaurants and convenient to local attractions and the interstate. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like welcome friends. With its architectural details and luxurious cloudlike bedding, this lovely Inn is truly one-of-a-kind. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — The comfortable, luxurious, elegant environment coupled with excellent service.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Came to ALbany for a family wedding, and everyone stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. As it was a rare night away, we were looking for something a little more romantic. I found The Morgan House online and am so glad I did!
The location of the Inn is great. You can walk through the park, and to a ton of restaurants on Lark Street. The Inn itself, is classic and beautiful. The rooms all looked lovely. We stayed in 4F and I would highly recommend it. Such a comfortable bed, and lovely decor. My only complaint is the clawfoot tub. WAy too tiny and awkward to shower in. 4B looked even more lovely but a couple was staying there on their wedding night!
The kitchen is nice and fully stocked for a snack anytime, and the breakfast served was ample with cereals, muffins, scones and quiches. IT was nice to sit and eat int he garden. The staff was very helpful, especially Tommy.
We ate dinner at The Wine Bar on Lark and LOVED it! We also had a snack at the Daily Grind of Belgian Waffes - recommend! You can't go wrong with a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank smlev02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We were greated by a super friendly and really interesting
employee. Our room was beautiful. The bed was amazing. Cocktail hour was a blast! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KatBuffaloNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2008

My brother and I, along with our wives, recently stayed at the Morgan House. Following a 25 year absence, we were back in Albany for a family reunion. The accomodations were great, especially the most comfortable bed. With the capital building a couple of blocks away, Washington Park across the street, and the Morgan House, similar to the one we were raised in, the location could not have been better. Special thanks to Chuck and Janine for helping us setup for a "wine and cheese" party in the garden patio. Our local resident cousins were impressed. Hope to stay with you again.

Joseph McCoy
Riverside, CA

  • Liked — Location and style of hotel
  • Disliked — Would have preferred staying in the main house
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dewduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

The staff was extremely helpful. The rooms and the house is beautiful and in a really good area. It felt very friendly and homey. I have family in the area and will definitely stay again.

  • Liked — The house was beautiful.
  • Disliked — Very old elevator
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MJKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan State House

Property: Morgan State House
Address: 393 State St, Albany, NY 12210-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan State House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan State House is an elegantly restored 19th century building with no elevator. It is located in the Washington Park Historic District and is close to many of Albany’s downtown attractions. Suites at the Historic Inn and apartments at the Washington Park State House have seating areas, work desks, and cable TV. All suites and some of the apartments are equipped with free wireless. The apartments have kitchenettes or full kitchens, as well as elevators. Breakfast is included at The Morgan State House every morning. We are a non-smoking inn and are unable to accommodate children under 16. Laundry service and dry cleaning are some of the many amenities the hotel provides. The New York State Capital, a National Historic Landmark, is one mile from the Morgan State House. Albany International Airport is a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Morgan State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan State House Hotel Albany
Morgan State Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing