We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't praise it enough!”
Review of Morgan State House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morgan State House
Ranked #1 of 6 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Couldn't praise it enough!”
Reviewed June 30, 2008

The Morgan State House was excellent! The people running the place were all extremely friendly. Special thanks to Janine (who greated us with friendly smiles every morning and offered warm eggs and just went all out to make us feel comfortable) and to Chuck (did I get your name right? who drove us to the train station so that we could catch the next train out) and last but not least, to Bobby (again, did I get your name right? I'm terrible with names. who was very helpful in teaching us how to operate the air conditioner, gave us much confidence in the cleanliness of the room by taking off his shoes before stepping on the carpet, told us about yummy thai and Indian restaurants, and gave us directions to all the other places we wanted to go to. Oh and for being so so smart as to guess my nationality right on first try!) .

The suite itself was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, equiped with everything we need - full kitchen (complete with dishwasher even!), couch, tv, very soft and fluffy bed and duvet. Location, facing the Washington Park is again, perfect and within walking distance to the Empire State Building, which I believe is one of the main reasons why people go to Albany.

Morgan State House is simply charming, do try it for yourself!

  • Liked — The charming furnishings
  • Disliked — Slight confusion at check-in - staff were underground and we didn't know where to locate them
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    86
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
24
163
50
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Our stay at the Morgan State House was wonderful. I was in town to be sworn-in to the NY bar and all of the other chain hotels were booked. I found Morgan State House on Frommer's and decided to try it. I thought a charming bed and breakfast would be a nice retreat while staying in Albany. I definitely was not disappointed. We stayed in the king suite, 4B, which is absolutely beautiful. The skylights and sunken tub really make the room. The bathroom and room were spotless, all of the staff members were very helpful and very professional. I can't say that I'm in love with Albany the city, but if I ever find myself in need of a hotel in the area, the Morgan State House will be my first choice.

  • Liked — The house is absolutely beautiful...very peaceful and relaxing.
  • Disliked — The internet access was intermittent.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eag76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This was my second stay with the Morgan State House, but the first in the main house. The suites are exquisite. My personal favorite was the down beds. I don't think I have slept so well in ages. The location is perfect, a close walk to the capitol (and to some lively restaurants and nightlife). I highly recommend the Morgan State House.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sseger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this gorgeous bed and breakfast in a beautiful historic brownstone with a lovely garden. The king suite is sublime with its skylights, incredibly comfortable bed and big bathtub. I needed pampering and I got it here. The staff is friendly and accomodating and the breakfast was peaceful and yummy. Just enough. Great coffee! We will stay here again the next time we are in Albany -- why stay anywhere else? Across from a park, near all the restaurants, near the Capitol. Perfect in every way.

  • Liked — That it was an historic brownstone and that it was quiet, peaceful and extremely beautiful.
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I did not like about this place. Everything was great.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rememberparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2008

I travel to Albany for work on a regulr basis so I was thrilled to find this B&B in a nice quite part of town. I have been going for almost 2 years and I consider it "my place" I drive from NYC and park on the street parking or in a gated lot .
I can walk to some of the best restaurants around and take a stroll in the park after dinner.
I stay in the apartment building because I like to be independent but I go to the brownstone for breakfast. ( a few houses down the street ).Sometimes I bring some fruit & a muffin up to the apartment so that I can eat there. Both buildings are comfortable and friendly and a wonderful B & B experience. The apartment has all the amenities that I need for a "portable office" and if I need a break there are passes to the Y around the corner.
Compared to the Hotels in town it is the cleanest, friendliest,most comfortable place around and the best value for the money.
Check it out on their website.
Enjoy!

  • Liked — Clean & comfortable, location
  • Disliked — carrying keys & being responsible for own security
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ia_educonsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Morgan State House earlier this year
to visit my family in Albany and we really loved the place. The only thing I would mention when booking is that the Washington Park State House @ 399 State St. is an actual condo building a couple of doors down from the actual B&B. I didn't mind staying at the building since we needed a kitchenette to cook our own food. For a more B&B experience make sure you book the 393 State Street location, the rooms are really beautiful and pristine!

The staff was also so nice and the location is right across the street from Washington State Park which is "The Park" in Albany and just wonderful especially during the Tulip Festival which marks the start of Spring in Albany.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGurlCheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Not only is the Morgan State House a jewel but so is this neighborhood! I loved being so close to a nice park (complete with summer-like weather when I was visiting) and near to so many good restaurants and shops. A nice place to take a stroll. Having a safe place to park my car was another nice feature but best of all is this lovely old home. The wooden stairs, complete with creaks, are gorgeous and my room was comfortable and spacious. I enjoyed my breakfast and was pleased to learn that I could visit the kitchen at any time during my stay, a bonus for me as I am diabetic and could need emergency food in the wee hours of the morning. The staff I met were delightful and helpful. The Morgan State House is my cup of tea (and the coffee was good too.)
Annie

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan State House

Property: Morgan State House
Address: 393 State St, Albany, NY 12210-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan State House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan State House is an elegantly restored 19th century building with no elevator. It is located in the Washington Park Historic District and is close to many of Albany’s downtown attractions. Suites at the Historic Inn and apartments at the Washington Park State House have seating areas, work desks, and cable TV. All suites and some of the apartments are equipped with free wireless. The apartments have kitchenettes or full kitchens, as well as elevators. Breakfast is included at The Morgan State House every morning. We are a non-smoking inn and are unable to accommodate children under 16. Laundry service and dry cleaning are some of the many amenities the hotel provides. The New York State Capital, a National Historic Landmark, is one mile from the Morgan State House. Albany International Airport is a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Morgan State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan State House Hotel Albany
Morgan State Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing