We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had an incredible stay: comfortable rooms, great location, a magical breakfast, definitely an experience to remember!”
Review of Morgan State House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgan State House
Ranked #1 of 6 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent staff, made us feel at home, very clean, close parking, comfortable, vey accommodating, and included breakfast in a beautiful garden! All for a very affordable price! A bed and breakfast feel for a better price!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyllian44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 376 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent an entire month at the Morgan State House. From the moment, I arrived at this beautiful location in a 19th century mansion situated directly on Washington Park in Albany, I felt at home. Manager Janine along with Proprietor Chuck do not overlook any details. From morning European breakfast available in the mansion parlor or out on the magnificent patio----to all the room amenities including a bed so comfortable one could lounge all day. Private gated parking is available and a host of restaurants and entertainment choices are less than a 5 minute walk away.
As a world traveler---the Morgan State House is high on my list of favorites.

Room Tip: Each and every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We travelled through NY state on our way to Provincetown, from Toronto. Wanting a place that wasn't "just a place to sleep", my husband chose this place, which was not very much more money than the big chains. Upon arrival, Joseph greeted me at the door and explained the parking arrangement to me. He was polite and made me feel welcome. Janine (the manager) was fantastic - engaging, helpful and an all-around great hostess. You felt welcome and at home right away. Then we made our way to our room in their annex on the corner (the Washington building, with the green awning). OMG! Wow! The place was every bit as beautiful as the photos lead us to believe, and then some! My husband said he had the best sleep ever in that bed, and he had done all the driving, so I was happy for him. The little office tucked away in the room with French doors was adorable, and quite functional! Everything about this place drips class and charm and real character. The breakfast the next morning was great, with a wide variety of offerings, and you could go in the fridge and forage as easily and comfortably as at home. The garden is worth a visit. We had our breakfast there and my husband read the local paper over coffee, while I just drank in the tranquility of the garden with the chirping birds. When travelling, it's not about getting from point A to point B as fast as we can, but it's more about the journey, which is also why we took highway 20 across NY state, and forwent the thru-way. Definitely will be making this a stop-over again next year. While you're there, check out Fresh from the Garden restaurant, right around the corner on Lark, which is not affiliated with the hotel, but is the perfect accompaniment to it! The gay area is right around the corner as well, and although it wasn't anything to write home about, the evening we had at the restaurant was not to be missed, and the people were all friendly. If you are gay, or like fine accommodation at a reasonable price, or both, you'll be sure to love this place!

Room Tip: Just about anything in this place would be great, but we loved our room - #908 in the building down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuckduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were travelling back from the east coast to Toronto. Decided not to stay in a bigger hotel this time and chose this one one line. We were impressed with how organized, clean and friendly the staff were. We felt completely at home and the bed was more comfortable than anywhere else I've stayed. Lovely breakfast and sat outside to enjoy the lovely garden and early morning sun before setting off again. Would definitely stay there again.

We stayed on the third floor no elevator. I'm sure staff would carry your bags up if you needed this service.

Room Tip: 3F is a large beautiful room with king bed overlooking Washington State park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Morgan State House while visiting potential colleges with our nephew. The house is beautiful and tastefully decorated with fresh flowers enhancing the charm. We had rooms on the 4th floor which were spacious and interesting. While the easy access location is perfect for city touring or work, we also enjoyed the privacy and peacefulness of the patio garden behind the house. Our hosts provided excellent suggestions for restaurants in very easy walking distances.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 103tcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is my second glowing review of the Morgan State House. I first stayed there in May 2011, and if possible, I love it even more now. The main house is a throw back to a bygone era and each room is lovely. This last trip, I had the good fortune to experience the garden as well. Though I do prefer staying in the the main house, for those watching their dollars, the condo a few doors down is also very clean and comfortable. Be sure to specify when you are making your reservation. Janine (sister of the proprietor) is a lovely hostess and will go out of her way to make sure that you get the most out of you stay. All are welcome to enjoy the common areas and the breakfast which is a do-it-yourself affair with lots of healthy options. It will also give you the opportunity to sit and mingle with other guests should you so choose. If you are tired of the same old same old, try the Morgan State Hose. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived in town exhausted from a trip and were greeted at the main house by John who was very helpful with his directions to the parking area and checking in. The House is lovely, nicely restored, decorated and clean. The garden is charming and quiet for coffee and breakfast.
Our room was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable.
We were three blocks away from the Capitol - which is a must see- absolutely fabulous. Unfortunately the State Museum was closed on Monday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
3.5 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#18 of 50 in Albany
480 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan State House

Address: 393 State St, Albany, NY 12210-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range: $135 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan State House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan State House is an elegantly restored 19th century building with no elevator. It is located in the Washington Park Historic District and is close to many of Albany’s downtown attractions. Suites at the Historic Inn and apartments at the Washington Park State House have seating areas, work desks, and cable TV. All suites and some of the apartments are equipped with free wireless. The apartments have kitchenettes or full kitchens, as well as elevators. Breakfast is included at The Morgan State House every morning. We are a non-smoking inn and are unable to accommodate children under 16. Laundry service and dry cleaning are some of the many amenities the hotel provides. The New York State Capital, a National Historic Landmark, is one mile from the Morgan State House. Albany International Airport is a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morgan State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan State House Hotel Albany
Morgan State Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing