We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
beach-front with beach beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
beach-front with beach beds
Sunset from the villas private beach front villas with sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
52 reviews
beach-front with beach beds
Sunset from the villas private beach front
villas with sea view
swimming pool
swimming pool
beach front
bedroom with varanda and sea view
open plane kitchen
view from the varanda villa
Villa on pillars
all villas
map of praslin
sea view lodge
Dinning chairs with terasse and sea view
Terasse with sea view
Beach front
swimming pool
swimming pool
bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Praslin Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
FSideTrav...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent five nights at Sea View Lodge over Easter. We had a lovely time and were well looked after by Gretel and Barrie and their team. The facilities were well-maintained and the room thoroughly cleaned daily. The villa had everything we needed - a comfortable, quiet and clean place to stay, a nice view of the sea from the bedroom and balcony, our own good bathroom and kitchen facilities, and a great position on Praslin on Anse Possession.

Our hosts were very helpful, organising a rental car for us, which was delivered to the Lodge, and arranging a beautiful alternative nearby seaside villa for two nights when they could not initially accommodate us on our requested dates. They also accommodated our late arrival at 22h15. (We took a taxi to the lodge from the airport as it was too late for the buses).

There were 5 villas, apart from the main house, but we were hardly aware of other guests as the villas were distributed between large trees in a pretty garden complete with 3 giant tortoises The beach was no more than 30 metres from the villa, across the road, and was a great place for sun-downers and even snorkeling around the corner to the right.

The position at Anse Possession is great, being quiet but not far from shops, restaurants and a beach at Anse Volbert (5 minutes by car), the beautiful Anse Lazio to the north (15 min), the Jetty for ferries to La Digue and Mahe (10 min), and the Valee De Mai Nature reserve for walks (15 min). There is also a bus stop about 50 metres down the road from the lodge. After exploring the entire island I would choose to stay here again on future visits.

Enjoy your stay!

P.S. If passing through the airport at Mahe on your way to Praslin you may be asked bring some items from the duty free shop at Victoria Airport in Mahe. This is helpful for Gretel and Barrie and they will refund you.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Good location, friendly service
Liked least: Taxi service to lodge expensive, as no bus in the evening
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massibull
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breadfruit Tree Villa - great quality at a good prize.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very good Guesthouse, with an enchanting garden and few well built villas. I was in the Breadfruit Tree Villa, and I found it a great location to spend my 7 days in Praslin. Large confortable rooms, with a king size bed and a couple of large single beds. A great terrace where you eat with a charming view over Anse Possession. The owners are very kind and ready to help, they can arrange a car to rent, or a boat trip, but if you do not want to be disturbed, they'll respect your privacy. Our villa was cleaned every day, and the turtles in the garden are just cool. The only drowback is that I found Anse Possession, much less actractive, as a beach than Anse Volbert or others. You can have a bath of course, but the sand is kind of grainy and a lot of broken corals are scattered on the bottom, so you'll may need some kind of shoes to walk the beach. But anse Volbert is just 5 min by bus, and the confort of the villas, is worth a little effort to get to some better beach. With my wife and my 2yo daughter were extremely satisfied and we did found nothing to complain about.
WiFi avialable at the reception.
P.S. there is a wonderful avocado tree in the garden, Gretel, the owner gave me a couple of them to try. The best avocados I evere ate. Just alf lime and a bit of oil and a great sause for pasta was ready.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The beach
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enedrikis...
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea View Cottage with all amenities....Banana Villa”
Reviewed February 27, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I arrived at Sea View Lodge by Taxi on nov. 10th,2011,after a long series of flights from So. Calif.I was eagerly and happilly welcomed by Gretel and Barry,owners and hosts.My "Banana Villa" was waiting ready.....I was so tired....mid -afternoon...it was quiet!
I was so ready for my extended stay of 3 months.
The stand alone cottage of approx. 600 SF was very clean and tidy.w/large bed,spacious bathroom,closet w/floor safe,small-fully equimpt. kitchen,Satellite TV, A/C.THE 2.5 ACRE GROUNDS OF THE LODGE IS METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED AND CLEANED DAILY.It reminds me of the garden of eating,many fruit trees....flowers....Gretel brought me some tasty family grown fruit over the months.Barry was very helpfull o his car schedule to town daily.And even picked me up off the road when I was walking a few times to food stores.Plus a ride to airport....I felt they had my safety/security and well being in mind every day.My health improved over the months.Weekly guests came and went.....no incidents.
My cottage was fully air conditioned,w/fans.Made for superb sleeping at night.It is an easy walk to Raffles hotel resort beachfront to swim/snorkel.5 star dining as well.Or walk 1 kilometer to Anse Volbert,a very long beach.3 food stores,internet--DVD's,,bank,restaurants,fruit stand.Whether you walk,bus,bicycle,or rent a car,you can go anywhere on Pralin in short time.Close to Anse Lazio....A great beach....trails all around it to walk in also.See Anse Georgette....best petite beach on earth!
Take a boat excursion or ferry to outer islands,La Digue,or Mahe daily ferry's.
The lodge is built upon a gentle hillside,with its own fresh water spring!
Nice views of anse possession bay and ocean.I would rate the lodge a solid 8 out of 10 rating.With upgrades of a DVD player,one piece firm king size bed,glass block shower enclosure,local antenna TV channels,frost free fridge,filtered water delivered to the room weekly,and a 40"---47 inch LED TV screen,I would rate this villa a 10!
It is a good value for location,the family strives daily to improve the quality of life at the lodge for everyone.I was very impressed by this.It is quiet in the afternoons and night.
New high quality balinese furniture,artworks,adorn the villas.Rooms are cleaned daily,except sunday.Quiet outside laundry facilities,adjacent to my cottage.
Clean air,warm breezes,daily exercise,fresh food,mountain spring water,nice people,convenient location,and yes,a sea view.
There exists some traffic noise from main road trucks and busses duing the daytime.

Overall,I really liked my villa & hosts/family/turtles at Sea View Lodge,and so will you!
I highly recommend this rental.I actually felt much better upon departing.A real restful winter vacation.
Ric~ So.Cal,USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly people....nice family...quiet at night.
Liked least: Some road noise during daytime.No swimmable beach in front.No sunsets.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed October 20, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VIAJERA82...
Bilbao, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosselval
Ollainville, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2017
Dear Mme Claudia, Im am very disheartened to read your review. I hold my establishment at a very high standard. Cleanliness and hygienne are our priority and our staff works hard to keep our villas to those high standards, i personally think you are confusing my establishment to somewhere else. i don't keep any plastic plates and cups in the villas. Our furnishers and in particular the mattresses are less than 6 months old and so far you are the first client to complain about them.
Have you been so disappointed while you were at the lodge, you could have discussed your issues with me. so we could have moved you to a room more suiting to your expectations or maybe even help you book the presidents villa at Lemuria at the five star resort. Plus i cannot find your name on my booking reservations, its very strange
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing