We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of jewel in Seychelles”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clef des Iles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clef des Iles
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A piece of jewel in Seychelles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were looking for a reasonable priced accommodation but at the same time great location. We thought we would never find one, but luckily we found Clef Des Iles! A beautiful, quaint, simple property in Beau Vallon. You will really have island life feel when you stay here. There's a kitchenette if you wish to do a self catering or just eat out in the nearby restaurants. The unit has their shower and toilet on the ground level and one toilet upstairs. The Master Bedroom has one of the best views of sunset in Seychelles overlooking the mysterious Silhouette Island. The other room has a 2 single beds and a cot if you have a baby. Dining table and sunbed are on the ground floor with a few steps on the beach. The location is perfect as it is next to nearby great restaurants like La Plage or La Perle Noir Restaurant which serves one of the best meals in Seychelles. I would really want to go back to this piece of jewel soon if will be visiting Seychelles. Stephane and Marquis are very helpful and they even agreed to have a late checkout for us as we had an island tour on the day of our checkout and our flight was in the evening. (luckily the next guest wasn't there just yet) i highly recommend this if you wish to stay in a beautiful accommodation in Seychelles without hurting your budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    27
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in May 2012. We looked hard for accommodation and chose this place over the hugely expensive resorts. What a great decision!! The location of the apartments on the beach is second to none and it's handy to any number of shops and places to eat. There's fresh fish for sale at the side of the road and regular buses that run into Victoria. The staff at the apartments are friendly, helpful and full of advice on what to do and how to get around. What I'm trying to say is that this place is just tremendous and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Mahe.

Room Tip: The swimming pool is the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberts031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed in four different places in the Seychelles and this was my favorite.  Not a resort, Clef des Iles is instead an intimate place consisting of just four large comfortable bungalows set directly on a beautiful beach.  I loved seeing the ocean view from every room, and falling asleep to ocean breezes and the sound of the waves.  The proprietors are very friendly and will help with any question, and even provide you a mobile phone for the course of your stay so you can call them as well as other useful numbers, which are conveniently preset in the phone for you.  The bungalows have a full kitchen and are well-designed, making island living as easy as it should be on a holiday and feeling like a home away from home.  The beach, Beau Vallon, is stunning and perfectly safe, allowing one to swim for miles if they choose in the warm clear water.  A dive center is right next door for those inclined, as are cute restaurants and shops.  All and all it made for a wonderful and perfect getaway. I think I would live here if I could!

Room Tip: All four of the bungalows are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oceans_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Situated right on the beach, beautiful and spacious accomodation, restaurants and diving center at next-door distance, very kind and helpful owner and staff, not cheap, but absolutely worth of the price, I can really recomend this! Just be aware the sea makes some noise during the nights, even when it is calm...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I looked for beach chalets with two bedrooms for our trip to Seychelles and stayed in 5 different places. Proximity of a good beach was a priority as well as not having to cook dinner ourselves.

Our first stay was at Clef des Iles. It has a wonderful location right on the beach at Beau Vallon. The building is new and nice. All appartments are sea-facing. They also provide airport transportation by request.

As for the bedrooms, the master bedroom is really nice with a wonderful view to the sea. It has a balcony but there is no furniture (I would have liked a couple of chairs). The second bedroom is clearly for children. It is okay for one adult (single bed) but definitely not as nice as the master bedroom.

There are two small toilets, both downstairs and upstairs. Nice batroom is downstairs. The bedrooms are upstairs, as well as a living area with tv.

Fruit and juice are provided daily. There was a also a starter package for breakfast enough for two mornings for two adults. They also do the cleaning daily (including dishes)(not so everywhere we stayed).

Baobab pizzeria is in the same building. Good pizza for very cheap prices. It gets crowded after sunset so one must hurry. And the service is not always very friendly but still, the location is unbeatable on the beach and food is good and cheap.

We really liked the place. The only negative thing is that it gets very hot upstairs where the bedrooms are and we had trouble sleeping. There is no air-con (there is a fan though but in this heat it doesn't really help and makes the room "windy" to my taste). Adding air-con would be great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was our choice for the last two nights in Mahe. If you ever dreamed of a flat with the sea RIGHT AT YOUR DOORSTEP, this is the place for you! When the ebb is high, the sea actually reaches the gallery. The Beau Vallon Beach is the busiest in Mahe, and the most popular one. Two kilometers of white sand, restaurants, watersports. There is no snorkel there, but it is located by just a Diving Agency. Very close (walking distance) to convenience stores and groceries. Three Restaurants and pizza shops across the road. Cute restaurants and some shops within a 10 minute walk.
A HUGE two-storey flat, right ON the beach. Very well decorated. They provide a cellphone with preset numbers for service and deliveries. Very well equipped. They provide upon arrival, and replenish daily, a fruit tray and things to cook your own breakfast. It is the true concept of a "seaside" “self catering”!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera-del-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
555 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 886 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent Christmas and New Year 2011-2012 at La Clef des Iles: my husband, my mum and I. We had planned the trip for well over a year, and had wanted to surprise my mum with a dream holiday that she would never forget. We had a wonderful time and were not disappointed in any way. In spite of a slight hiccup at check-in where we were initially placed in the wrong villa and then moved (to a far nicer one - the best one actually, called 'L'Ilot'), everything went without a hitch. The owner-managers, Stéphane and Marquise, really go out of their way to help you with everything, and are lovely. As we wanted to stay at 'home' for New Years Eve and cook/relax with a meal (we love cooking), Stéphane drove us to a cash-and-carry where he shops, and where we got 25% off some wonderful French products such as fois-gras etc, as it's the cash-and-carry where hoteliers shop. Such kindness and thoughtfulness at every turn. We used the local bus services for the entire trip, except for hiring a car for one day at the very end, and I must say I have never felt so comfortable in my life as I did in Seychelles. The people accept you - as a tourist, you are not stared at, or made to feel 'different'. Mum and I were often up early and clearly the only 'foreigners' taking the buses in to town with all the local people going to work, and we just felt so comfortable. This can be a rare thing, even in your home city sometimes! So, all-in-all, I would advise anyone to stay at La Clef des Iles, unless you are someone who likes a 'resort' atmosphere. If you like a down-to-earth (yet modern and luxurious) home-away-from-home where you can be independent, cook for yourself and really lay back and relax, it's the place for you! Just don't tell ALL your friends - we want to keep this treasure hidden a little! ;-) ENJOY.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
1.1 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
5.4 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clef des Iles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clef des Iles

Property: Clef des Iles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clef des Iles 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clef des Iles is composed of 4 duplexes located literally on the beach. Each duplex (around 120 m2 each) has two large attic bedrooms facing the majestuous Silhouette and North Island. The kitchen is fully equipped and internet is freely available through a wireless system. This ideal “on the beach home” is surrounded by charming restaurants and offers easy access to water sport facilities. The discrete Clef des Iles team takes care of daily cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clef des Iles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clef Des Iles Hotel Mahe Island
Clef Des Iles Mahe Island
Clef Des Iles Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing