We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snorkeling, freediving Mahe-la Residence apartments”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Residence
Certificate of Excellence
slovenia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“snorkeling, freediving Mahe-la Residence apartments”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Coming from La Digue to Mahe was in a way disappointing. Hectic traffic (compared to almost only bicycles at La DIgue), reckless driving, but strangely we saw no accidents. In the taxi to la Residence apartments we decided to move with a taxi or by bus- no rent a car.
The building with the apartments , at la Mouche bay- nice looking but not a swimming or snorkeling place, has a nice view and garden.The first apartment was big, nice view. The furniture was more of a picked here and there, no style, the gas stove was very old, the kitchen knives were missing ( my swiss knife helped). the air condition broke down in the evening,it was hot - first floor. We could not sleep.Fortunately, there was an apartment free downstairs, so we insisted to move . The apartment was better looking, but the lightning in both was neon tubes, simple lamps and really annoying. The kitchen ware was really basic, we had to snitch the toaster from the upper apartment, there was none.The electric sockets, half of them was broken, had to plug, unplug other stuff, for charging my underwater gear.
The apartments were clean, the staff friendly.
Walking from the apartments to the restaurant and the shop (10-15 min. one way) is not pleasant at night, even with a torch, you have to walk on the road.
There is the night guard, the drug use and traffic are on the rise in Mahe.Do not leave anything important on the beach is the current advice they give you, but we had no problems.
We stayed 5 days.
The best spots nearby for swimming, snorkeling and free diving were Anse Soleil- go left as far as you can, and Port Lunay- left, surprisingly good coral,better than La Digue,tame fish, the visibility was average- 4-8 metres, in Port Lunay even only 2 metres.Anse Royale was below average..At La Digue visibility was somewhat better.Still we saw the three spotted angelfish at Anse Soleil, and big brain corals and juvenile fish at port Lunay.

The buses are cheap. on time,they go every hour or so, the last ones in the afternoon are very crowded

Thanks to Pascal Libanotis, our taxi driver, who brought us and picked us everywhere on time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pathfinder_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile h, Owner at La Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear pathfinder_9, It would have been so much better for everyone if you had actually stayed on La Digue. Good luck in your choice of accomodation next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I am biased! I love the fact that I can just get away from it all. I feel the if you need more than is provided in this great gem then you should stay in the city.
I have always felt the owners and staff, to be very helpful going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and is there anything else you might want(fresh fruit,someone to cook for you at least once and fill you in on what is on locally etc) Nothing is too much trouble, all you have to do is ask. Five star style, in shorts and a t shirt - what more could you want.
I have stayed here on many occasions as a couple, family and tribe of family Everytime it has been fantastic- don't change

Room Tip: All the rooms and villas are great so take your pick if there is one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here in late march through early april and couldn't have picked a better time or better place. The villas are absolutely wonderful and the views of the bay are priceless. The villa's are airy and catch the sea breeze nicely keeping you comfortable all day. La Residence is tucked away on top of the hill and on a calmer side of the island so its really peaceful and lets you really get away. Their staff is very friendly and they have excellent coordination with car hires and so on. Very pleasant stay. Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: The turn off from the main street is right at a bend in the road so it will sneak up on you. Keep yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddgl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Every time I go to Seychelles (which is quite often) I stay at La Residence in Anse La Mouche. It is self-catering which works out very well for me. The staff and office personnel are very helpful and flexible. Additionally they work with the clients to ensure they are very satisfied with their stay in Paradise. The location is away from the normal tourist trap areas and that suits me just fine. Anse La Mouche is a great place to swim, snorkel, kayak, boot or just relax on the beach. Wouldn't stay anywhere else, it is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laytons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile h, Owner at La Residence, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for the good review. I am very pleased enjoyed La Residence.All the staff enjoyed having you as a guest and hope to welcome you again. Best Regards,Cecile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Having been to La Residence several times in the past and just recently returned I can honestly say it is the most relaxing holiday of all. The owners of the hotel are always available to help and offer advice and can arrange anything from evening meals at €15 per person to car hire if required.

The rooms are clean and inviting. Clients are well looked after and many return (as we do) for another lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Speak to the owners as all are nice in there own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in January 2012 for a week and had a wonderful time. Friendly employees and owner, beautiful view over the bay, open building design gives lots of fresh air. High above the road, there is a feeling of security without walls. This is not a fancy place, but very comfortable. The only minor things were the security guards talked a bit loudly at night until we spoke to the owner about it, and the view slightly marred by electric wires and the car park.

Room Tip: The cheaper accommodation is in a block of six or eight rooms on two levels; the upper rooms are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbw243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

December 2011 we rented the Large (3500 sqf,350 sqm) house. It was fabulous. Everything you look for during a holiday was there: very quiet house in a middle of a huge park with nice trees, nice sea view and equaly outstanding was Magda, the funny, honest and exquisite maid who also cooked for us. You need a car to get there because there is a steep hill. Would love to go back. Merci Monsieur Paul and Magda

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Chez Batista Villas
Chez Batista Villas
#2 of 2 in Takamaka
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Oasi Guest House
L'Oasi Guest House
#18 of 48 in Mahe Island
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maison Soleil
Maison Soleil
#1 of 2 in Baie Lazare
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Evergreen Apartments
Evergreen Apartments
#2 of 4 in Anse Boileau
10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sailfish Beach Villas
Sailfish Beach Villas
#1 of 4 in Anse Boileau
160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lazare Picault Hotel
Lazare Picault Hotel
#33 of 80 in Mahe Island
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Anse la Mouche, BeachRoad | Anse La Mouche, Mahe Island 248, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent bay of Anse la Mouche is La Residence with nearby attractions such as snorkeling, diving, deep sea and fly fishing. Each villas has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenettes, and terraces with views of the bay. All bedrooms have overhead fans and some have air conditioning. Daily cleaning services and house linens provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Mahe Island
La Residence Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing