We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and comfort. Paradise is not far”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Peace and comfort. Paradise is not far”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

December 2011 we rented the Large (3500 sqf,350 sqm) house. It was fabulous. Everything you look for during a holiday was there: very quiet house in a middle of a huge park with nice trees, nice sea view and equaly outstanding was Magda, the funny, honest and exquisite maid who also cooked for us. You need a car to get there because there is a steep hill. Would love to go back. Merci Monsieur Paul and Magda

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Pros:
Nice view from your balcony to Anse La Mouche
Close to bus stops
Decent places to eat out are close by
Fruit bats coming in to eat/roost are amazing
Helpful staff
Internet fees are reasonable-flat fee for your whole visit. It's not speedy service, but oh, well.
Big safe-able to stow away a full sized laptop
Con's:
Long bus ride or $$ taxi ride to Victoria/Airport
Nearest grocery store is sparsely stocked and if you walk, it's about 10 minutes
Although you can walk down the driveway and be at a beach, Anse La Mouche is super-shallow and unlike many of the other Seychelles beaches we visited, this whole area has broken glass and some trash on the beach.
Road in front is narrow and for safety bring along a small flashlight for walking at night-no sidewalks.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 5-it was a good location-rooms on either side of us so I guess we were lucky we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpaul4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have stayed for one week. The residence is located quite far (approx. 45 mins by bus) from Victoria - the capital of Seychelles, but the bus station is just 3 mins walk. In the walking distance is also one very nice restaurant and small food shop so you dont need to ask the staff to organize the B&B or any other catering. It is good for self-catering. The apartement has a kitchen corner, dinning table and chairs - everything in very simplne but efficient style. The bedroom has also AC and bathroome is equipped with standart bathtub. The staff was very nice and helpfull. If you need a transport from or to the airport ask them before you arrive, they are able to provide the transfer for better price than the taxis in front of the arrival hall. I also do not recommend travelling by bus with the luggage. The bus is small and you will be sqeezed by other travelers, but on the other hand it is the best way how to expore this beautiful country. The cost is about 10 rupees and you can travel the longest route on the island with one ticket. I really recommend this kind of accommodation especially for couples.

Room Tip: Nice and good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

La residence is a very nice house with a beautiful garden on a hill right across Anse La Mouche. The view is stunning. The rooms are huge with very high ceilings, a big comfortable bed, a nice balcony. And the staff and the owners are extraordinarily friendly and helpful!!! That´s why I am giving 5 points, although there were a few things that weren´t perfect. We were a bit unlucky, because we got apartment No. 6, which used to have a stair connecting the lower level. The hole was closed but not isolated at all. Therefore it can get very loud in the morning, when the staff talks in the lower level and at night when the security is watching TV or talking. The other rooms presumably don´t have that problem, therefore, just watch out that you won´t get room number 6 and you are fine. When we stayed at La Residence, there was no hot water (due to the water shortage on the island they said). I don´t understand why they didn´t install electric heaters in the shower (like other places) but if this was a temporary problem, there´s nothing to worry about. Also, since this is a self catering house, the kitchen is completely empty (except for 1 complementary bottle of water). We stayed at other places, where we got at least salt, pepper, coffee and tea. But here you´ll first have to go to the supermarket. There is also a WiFi connetion (a bit slow) which cost 10 Euro for your whole stay. Anyway, I would return to La Residence and can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukovica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Nice spaceus rooms, great view to the bay, close to the beach, not far from the shops, restaurants...There's half wild garden at the back of the bungalows - with a bit of luck, some ripe papayas are waiting to be picked up...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed 11 nights in July in one of the villas. Everything was top notch clean and comfortable and the staff extremely nice and helpful. The two bedrooms had air conditioning for a comfortable night sleep. We got a rental car via the hotel and it was delivered to and picked up from the airport, could not be any easier.
There is a very nice restaurant (Islander/Anchor bar) within a walking distance if you do not feel like driving out for a dinner. Also you can order traditional creole dinner or continental breakfast to your room but you have to do it a few days in advance for the dinner (it was delicious, recommended). Also wireless Internet is available for 10€ for the duration of the stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Very comfortable place to stay for a family (2+2) - plenty of space. We stayed in villa no. 9 (2 bedrooms and sitting/dining room plus kitchen.) If you are looking for a reasonable priced place which is comfortable, quiet, and clean we recommend this place. Best to ask for room 9, 8 or 7 coz they are separate villas.
When staying here it's best to rent a car: either arrange with La Residence that you wish to have a car meet you at the airport on arrival or you can pick up the car at La Residence itself. Rates in July 2009 was 50 Euros for a small 4-door car OK for 4. Advisable to bring motion sickness pills if you tend to suffer from car sickness - roads on the islands are very windy (lots of twists and turns) so be prepared.
We also met the land-lady - very pleasant and she can tell you many things about where to go, eat, etc. plus her assistant was equally pleasant too.
Mahe is not great for snorkeling, so if you plan to snorkel just don't expect too much. Other islands and/or boat dives are better so we were told, but we never had the time to try.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anse Soleil Beachcomber
Anse Soleil Beachcomber
#1 of 1 in Anse Royale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Anse la Mouche, BeachRoad | Anse La Mouche, Mahe Island 248, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent bay of Anse la Mouche is La Residence with nearby attractions such as snorkeling, diving, deep sea and fly fishing. Each villas has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenettes, and terraces with views of the bay. All bedrooms have overhead fans and some have air conditioning. Daily cleaning services and house linens provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Mahe Island
La Residence Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing