We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing for the relatively high price.”
Review of Opera Resaurant, Caffe & Bar - CLOSED

Opera Resaurant, Caffe & Bar
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing for the relatively high price.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I'd go back if I just wanted to eat chips but otherwise, never again.

I ordered Creole style half chicken my partner went for the grilled tuna. Poorly cooked chicken is an understatement, it arrived luke warm and was slightly pink inside. I couldn't fathom how it'd been 'cooked'. Immediately sent back and was asked if I'd also like the tuna. Creole sauce tasted like it was from a jar. Tuna was okay but nothing special, rice was also barely warm and served plain so very bland. God only knows what the chef is upto.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    17
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Horrible food, terrible service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had the displeasure of choosing this poor excuse for a restaurant for dinner one night while in the Seychelles. The drinks were served in good time. However, the food took forever to come. And then it was horrible. A really poor excuse for chicken - way too many bones. Aletta's dinner was equally as bad. The table alongside waited for their bill for 20 minutes. Seeing this we asked for our bill at the same time that the food arrived. This is the first time ever I left a restaurant leaving ZERO tip. I even wrote a note on the back of the bill saying just how bad the place was. I strongly recommend that you do not waste your time by having a meal here. There are far more suitable places around Mahe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CR_ARNESTAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If only I had checked Tripadvisor first,”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As in a previous review we ordered Diavola pizza and got a pizza with luncheon meat! The tuna steaks I ordered were terrible and almost enough to put me off tuna steaks for life. The prices were the same as our 5 star resort. 2 of the staff were sour faced never cracking even the smallest smile. When I said at the end of the meal that I thought bread was supposed to come with the soup which came at the same time as the main dishes - she just said yes I'm sorry but obviously wasn't. Seychelles will be improved by this place closing and being replaced with something half decent - the island is too small to have places this bad!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anse Boileau, Seychelles
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very bad”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Bought pizza at opera
A Diavolla at 120 rupees was supposed to be with salami but instead was luncheon meat. Disgusting.
Phone them for explaination but insist that it is salami.
Dont take people for a fool.
So i went there to see her directly but could not give any explanation.what a shame.
Please dont go there!!!
And very bad service!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seychelles
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful Service and experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Please avoid this place at all costs!!!
Waited 1 hour for pizzas which never came.
paid for the drinks and went out fuming - no one claimed responsibility...

Daquiri cocktail tasted like lime juice with a feint drop of alcohol.
Messed up the Cuba Libre order...


Paul Lebon - Mason's Travel

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera Resaurant, Caffe & Bar also viewed

Victoria, Mahe Island
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Bel Ombre, Mahe Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing