We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Counts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carana Hilltop Villa
Ranked #5 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Carana Hilltop is a great home base for us in Seychelles.Michael and Eileen organized a fantastic fishing trip for us on the first day. We were also directed to further activities and destinations at Mahe and other outlying islands and had a great and exciting experience. We feel like home as we were pampered with good food in the evening so we may relax and rejuvenate. Eileen goes her way out to remove the spikes and help bandage my foot after I accidentally step on an sea urchin while snokelling. We stayed 5 nights in a room with ocean views from the hill. We also love breakfast time in the villa garden with mountain views at the back. The garden has different kinds of trees. At the time we were staying there were big avocados and Michael picked half a dozen of them to add to our already over loading luggage to bring home on the morning we left. Thanks to the hosts who have helped made our trip most enjoyable and memorable.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lfjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Carana Hilltop Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 131 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were staying there for one week. It's small hotel (just villa) placed in northern part of Mahe. Hotel located on top of hill (about 10 mins walking from local beach).

Very quiet place and friendly atmosphere, swimming pool, heartly owners, white sand beach with marvellous ocean just on foot of hill, continental breakfast just under the palms and dinner of your wish. What else one need to be happy?

Owners are really heartfull, Mike retired aussie and Eileen his wife. They're ready to assist you on any of your wishes. E.g. they helped us to rent car for reasonable price and ocean fishing as well. Eileen was so good to cook local or international dishes each evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivanovpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We visited Carana Hilltop Villa on 17th June 2012 for our honeymoon. We were happily greeted by Eileen at the gate and offered a glass of juice. Our superior room was fantastic, and had the ocean view. We loved the fresh flowers arrangements on the bed and in the bathroom(thanks to Murielle). Retiring to the smell of fresh flowers after day swim in the ocean, was simply heavenly.
Our stay at the villa was to say the least home away from home. Right from the onset we struck a good rapport with owners and from then on we felt like we were visiting friends and not guests in a hotel. While Eileen kept us well fed(we thoroughly enjoyed her culinary skills, the red snapper, the bread fruit and the vegetable rice was awesome), Mike made sure we well well entertained. A few nights, Mike organised a barbecue and enjoyed some sumptious pork and chicken roast. Being our first time in Seychelles, we had only booked to stay in Mahe islands, but thankfully Mike advised us to visit the other 2 islands of Praslin and La Digue. Not only did he allow us to interrupt our stay at Carana in between the days that we had booked, he also drove us to immigration to extend our visa and to KQ to change our flights. We stayed for an extra day at the Carana Villa. In the meantime despite a confusion with our booking details of HB vs BB, the management was patient until the issue was resolved. Not a single day did they indicate anxiety.
While away at Praslin, we so missed the personalised and friendly service at Carana we called Eileen just to let her know how much we missed her cooking, the homemade icecream as well as the herbal tea.

We totally enjoyed the hotels ambience, a dip in the swimming pool early in the morning was cooling and totally refreshing. We plan to visit again during our anniversary with our best couple!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleskiragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We visited Seychelles in March 2012 for our honeymoon and stayed for 1 week at Carana Hilltop Villa. As the name suggests Carana is located at the top of a hill from where you have a great view of the ocean. When we checked in we were met by Eileen who checked us in and showed us our room. Although we had booked a double room, we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite. The honeymoon suite feels like an attic that has been converted into a room and it has a great view of the ocean from the bed. The bed was really big and comfy. We found the room a bit hot coz the aircon had a small problem that was to be fixed. We mentioned this and we were smoothly transfered to the superior room. The superior room was great. The room and bathroom are big. The bathroom has a jacuzzi but due to the water restrictions in Seychelles at that time of the year we could not use it. Nevertheless we enjoyed using it as a bathtub. The villa is big and one can even make their own meals. Murielle,one of the caretakers, ensured our room and bed had flowers almost everyday. It was nice to come back to the room after a day of sightseeing to find the room neatly made with petals on the bed. Mike and Eileen took great care of us. They gave us tips about how to get around Seychelles and on a few occasions Mike drove us to town and showed us around. Mike is a good cook and we enjoyed the impromtu snacks he surprised us with. The best was the deep fried bread fruit which Mike showed us to make and even gave us some fruit that we could come home and make for ourselves. There is a small garden in the compound and Mike allowed us to pick some fruits and take back with us. One can easily get to town from the villa. The bus stop is less than 10 min downhill walk from the villa. The bus costs SRP 5 and one can easily get around Seychelles by using it.The beach is about 10 min walk. It is a small secluded beach with soft,white sand and clear blue waters. We found the ocean waters a bit rough for swimming, but the villa has a nice swimming pool where we swam. We happened to be in Seychelles during the Carnival and it was a sight to behold. It may not be as grand as the Brazilian one but still something to enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wahome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Still on my ninth visit in Seychelles writing this from Eden Island.
The literature for the above hotel discribed it as the holiday of a lifetime, it certainly would have been if we had stayed there. On arrival we were heavily pushed for the balance of the holiday even though a deposit of £300 pounds already paid, no welcome drink just " how are you paying" this seemed rather strange as never before had we encountered this type of attitude or pressure on these Islands. All became very apparent as when we were taken to our rooms they were of a standard far below that which was in the brochure, one would assume the photos are probably ten- twenty years old. My friends were given a free upgrade however they were then told to be very careful when opening the patio door as it quite often comes off the runners. Our room was very small with broken furniture only two lights working, it was supposed to be a self catering establishment and we were informed on arrival that the other guests had already used all of the amenities so there would be no where for us to use. We were shown to a balcony and then rather weirdly told however the other guests are using this so we will have to find you a table( did they not know we were coming?)
# As this was not our first visit to the Islands we fortunately had a jeep delivered to the airport and did our own transfers. The accomodation was substandard for the middle of the range prices it charges, whilst the attitude of the owners was bizarre to say the very least .
My friends and ourselvess decided this place would wreck our holiday so we made the decision to not unpack and to find other accomodation.
We lost over £500 pounds by moving but felt it was worth it not to ruin our stay.....you have been advised.........think very carefully before taking this risk.

For 20 euros more per night per couple we secured a very good two bedroom apartment on Eden Island self catering with amazing standards of equipment and amenities.

Room Tip: steer clear.......brochures and web sites can be deceiving. We love these Islands and have never ha...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank snorkel2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We went to Mahé end of October to celebrate our wedding and we have decided to book the Villa for two weeks. First, Carana hilltop Villa is ideally located, not so from Victoria and near Beau Vallon bay. The Villa is very confortable, rooms are very clean and spacious. Owners are very friendly. They really did their best to make sure that our trip will stay unforgettable. Breakfast is perfect (Fresh fruits, pancakes, fried or scrambled eggs, fresh fruit juice etc..
We strongly recommand this place for your stay in Mahé..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very quiet, confortable, tastefully furnished house. Very friendly atmosphere, hearty owners willing to fulfill various wishes of the clients. Marvellous ocean views from balconies, nice swimming pool. Excellent home made food, fresch fruits from the garden

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
3.7 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CaranaBeach Hotel
CaranaBeach Hotel
#8 of 35 in Mahe Island
206 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
1.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carana Hilltop Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carana Hilltop Villa

Address: Carana Machabee, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range: $95 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carana Hilltop Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carana Hilltop Villa echoes the very soul of the Seychelles Islands and their timeless promise of the ultimate, tropical shangrila and enviable, tranquil island lifestyle. The villa is framed by lush, multi-coloured tropical flowers in the front garden and by fruit trees facing the outside dining area where our guests may enjoy meals in the total serenity of a unique setting, serenaded by birdsong and by the restful gurgle of our fishpond's waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carana Hilltop Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carana Hilltop Villa Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing