We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!”
Review of Villa Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Dorado
Ranked #30 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spend our holidays with friends in villa for few days.
Great location: 10 minutes from the airport, 20 minutes from Victoria, supermarket within walking distance, good transportation for almost whole of the island Mahe.
The view from our room was wonderful, we enjoyed the breeze and birdsong. Swam in the ocean every morning, sometimes the sea level fell and we went to the nearest beach of Anse Royale 5 minutes from the villa. Zack and his team made our stay unforgettable! The breakfasts were excellent and consisted of fresh local fruit, eggs, bacon and local tea and coffee. Our room cleaned every day. Worker Martha is very friendly and smiling person with good sense of humor. The guys helped us to rent a car and told where to go, what to visit, where to eat and where to go for a nice swim. Zack provided us with beach towels and snorkeling mask at no extra charge. My girlfriend had a birthday and at our request, Zack organized a small surprise for her and some flowers. It was great!
After getting know each other we had enjoyed cooking dinner together with Zack and Yulia, we also enjoyed nice talk and a card game with them.
Not too far away from the villa there are a couple of good restaurants with sea food!

This is the best place in Seychelles if you are looking for a friendly environment, beautifully decorated house with large rooms and smiling team.

As for the other Islands:
On Praslin the people are more money oriented
On La Digue very quite and sloooow.

We hope to return to this lovely villa with cool team!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hello there!!! Thank you for your review on Us!
It was our pleasure to have such a nice couple and friends, the time spend was wonderful!
Hope to see you guys in the future - we will be ready for new cooking competitions and card play.
Have wonderful day.
Kind regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

A nice clean villa with friendly and helpful hosts, i recommend especialy for those who wish to have a self-catering, the kitchen is big and well equiped. Easy access to the ocean - right in front of the house. Supermarket with all the basics 2minutes away by walk. 10minutes from the airport, 20 from the capital.

The only thing that is quite a bit annoying is that the wifi is limited to 50MB a day per room, that makes about 10 minutes a day for iphones :( hope they will fix it until next time!

Otherwise no complains at all!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for spending some time and Share with other your experience at our Villa:)
It was our pleasure guys (family of 5) to have you over here for the X-mass and New year days!
We try to be open to everyone and any situations, as for the internet we are trying to provide to our guest a bit of free stuff such us 50 mb of internet per day free of charge.
Unfortunately on the island there is not big choice of internet providers and we have to deal with some limitations.
P.s. We try our best and not charging our guest for use of internet. Other places will recommend or actually sell a card for 1 hour use (usually card for 1 hour use cost around 100-120 rupees = 6,25-7 euro/1 hour).
Have nice time.
Kind regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice villa, we went there last year with our baby. Calm and quiet, very friendly host. Beautiful location right on the beach, but you need a car to go out for dinner. Small supermarket just a few minutes walking from the house which was very convenient. We could use the kitchen to prepare the lunch. Excellent stay overall, I would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaGingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Good evening and Merry Xmas and Happy New year 2014!
Thank you much to remeber about us eve after one year, that's soooooo nice, it means that we are doing the right things for you.
as for the car - yes, it's essential to rent one on Mahe, as we have lots of things to visit and many nice spots to explore on the island.
Thank you much to be with us and to think about us:)
Kind regards guys, all the best in the comming year.
Hope to see you some time in the future.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

1 million thanks and 1 million Yes for this villa!
It's not easy to tell the feeling of the stay that we had there. It is very private,lots of space in the room and bath,impressive terrace with the breakfast only for You,very very close to the water,the villa stands almost in the beach.The beach is very nice.It is not deep so the water is,I think,about 33 degree there:) The best temperature for me!:)Everything perfect...You know that You are on holidays somewhere very far from Your native land and at the same time You feel cosy like at home.The view is the same like in the photos.If You like clean,comfortable,very private stay its for You.And also it is very comfortable to reach all places of the island.We have travelled all island around and saw a lot of hotels and places to stay.And every evening when we returned to this villa we were very happy because it was the best!Zack and Yulia take care about all Your needs.We loved our stay and dream about coming back someday! And ,yes!! Ask Zack where to go for very tasty food! They know the best places for good dinner!.Several restaurants are very very near! Enjoy!!!:)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataRomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Good day to our Lithuanian friends!
Thank you for your time and stay with us.
We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We always try our best for our guests to be and to feel at home!
Have beautiful life and see you next time for the POKER tournaments in Villa Dorado:)
Take care.
Kindest regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hi, this little guest house is a very nice choice if you want something quite and away from the confusion of big hotels. The hosts are really nice and try to help you to have a great stay. Zack and Yulia, try to be "invisible" and do not disturb the guests, which is nice. Additionally, they provided an excellent map of Mahe with the places to go, and why (Restaurants, beaches, etc). Saying that, I would like to describe the guest house:

Cleaningless - very clean and the rooms are clean everyday (as expected).

Beach - The beach is small, but clean and the guest house is really ON the beach. The snorkelling is nice, but you need to go around 200m from the beach to start to see fish. As I realised in the Mahe region, corals are not as colourful as in other parts of the world and in this particular location, you won't see that much corals.

Breakfast - The breakfast is served between 8 and 10.30am and it is very nice and just near the beach. It comes with toasts, butter, jam, coffee, milk, mixed tropical fruits and "a la carte" omelets (Try Zack's bacon and cheese omelet). More than enough to fill you up! - No juices are available, but there are solutions for vegetarians (just speak to Zack)

Amenities - There is a small shop near the villa, just 50m to the left. Additionally, Wi-Fi is available for free, but limited to 50mb per day, per room. It is enough to check the email, read the newspaper, check the facebook and upload 2 or 3 photos.

Car Rental and tours - The owners will organize the car rental (40 euro per day) for you. I only knew this after I arrived and I can say that it is the same price that you get in the airport for a 5 day rental. For tours or ferry rides (to La Digue, for example), Zack was also available to take care of this in our behalf.

Rooms - Very nice and spacious rooms with a pleasant balcony (with seats). The A/C works properly and it ha a mini-refrigerator.

Surroundings - The villa has its own parking (free) and it is located in a beautiful bay with the reef just 300m from the beach. It has a Patio surrounded by trees and the beach. It is also nice to take the breakfast of just stay on the swing seat after some hours in the warm sea water! Additionally is 15m from the airport and 5 minutes (driving) from nice restaurants.

All in all, I loved this guest-house and my stay. Quietness, friendliness and beach are the trademarks of this hotel and for sure I would go back!

Room Tip: If you go for Sea view, ask for room no 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quinzico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Good day lovely couple:)
Thank, you much for your kind words!
You had said everything about our place:) I got nothing to add exept:
The recepie for the Beacon and Cheese omelet by me:)
Here we go:
First you have to heat up the pan not too strong, while heating the pan cut the beacon into small squares 1 * 1 centimeter, Before adding it to the pan add a small tea spoon of oil.
Add beacon, fry it for few minutes, while frying prepare the eggs.
2 eggs broken into to bowl added on the tip of spoon salt and 2 big spoons of milk, mixed together.
When the beacon is almost ready pour eggs mix into pan and cover it with cover (like this the omelet will also start cooking on top).
Open the cover, see if the top of it is getting cooked add some cheese on one half - top of it and cover it with the second half of omelet, keep frying for some time then flip it, fry for some minutes and voila! it's ready.

Have wonderful life and soon we will see a new life coming up :)
Kindest regards.
Zack and Yulia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

my wife and I have spent three days at villa dorado. It's a beautiful guest house with spacious rooms and a fantistic balcony. The bus stop is just outside the villa and takes you everywhere you want to go. Excellent breakfast!!! The manager Zack is one of the nicest man I ever met. In fact the morning I left, he gave us a ride to the airport (at 6 a.m.) saving us the money of the taxi
In my opinion "It's a must go" to vist the island oh Mahe

Room Tip: ask for a sea view double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good evening!
Thank you much for the feed back on your stay with us.
It's our pleasure to be as much helpful to our guest as possible.
Thank you and have nice everything's:)
Kind regards.
Villa Dorado Manager.
Zack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night because of early flight the next day. The airport is 15minuts away.

Nice location on the beach with oceanview from our room. Friendly host. We checked in around nine and got fresh fruit and coffee. They also offered to make breakfast the next morning, even though we had to leave at 5 AM. Big plus.

A store is near by. We found a ok beach and restaurant 1,5 km away, but we found it rather dangerous to walk by the road.

Wifi is available, but only 50MB per room per day.

The only bad thing, is that the room had a really akward smell. Did not like that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Synneannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharky_Zack, General Manager at Villa Dorado, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi guys:) thank you for the review.
Thank you for passing by Villa Dorado.
It's sad that you only had to see only one beach (Anse Royal) out of other wonderful places on the island. For example Intendance for nice waves or Anse du Soleil for nice snorkeling experience.
We always try our best to help our guest at Villa Dorado (giving free of charge 50 mb internet or use of our personal computer and printer, providing with map and advising on where to go or what to see, helping with car rentals or organizing excursions).
We will check the room as for now i can say that is the smell of wood on our hight ceilings in the rooms that have been heated by beautiful and hot Seychelles sun:).
Thank you.
Kind regards.
Villa Dorado Manager.
Zack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
10.5 mi away
Clef des Iles
Clef des Iles
#18 of 35 in Mahe Island
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Beach Hotel
Crown Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Mahe Island
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Kordia
Villa Kordia
#1 of 1 in Pointe Larue
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Roussette
Hotel La Roussette
#4 of 49 in Mahe Island
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le domaine de Bacova
Le domaine de Bacova
#1 of 2 in Au Cap
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Au Fond de Mer View
Au Fond de Mer View
#1 of 7 in Anse Royale
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dorado

Property: Villa Dorado
Address: Pointe au Sel, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront guesthouse lies on the tranquil southeast coast of Mahe island (10 minutes from the international airport), the fairyland beaches wich offers excellent snorkelling experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dorado Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing