We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be an amazing Boutique Hotel”
Review of Villa Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Dorado
Ranked #30 of 49 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights December- had planned 8 but had to move to something less basic. If like us you do not want a Resort and you want "feet in the sand" this is a perfect location. The beach here is beautiful in terms of nature, photography but not the best for swimming as so shallow. Having explored the island I still think this is the most exciting beach if you like nature, friendly dogs, bird life and amazing camera shots at dawn and dusk. Jake as everyone says is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. My moans are; road noise, uncomfortable beds, no toiletries, basic breakfast and too dangerous to walk to local restaurants. If you have a car no problem as first restaurant on next beach is great. If you can get Jake to cook dinner it is great but he seems reluctant to offer this service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardregatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 92 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Villadorado is really lovely, situated 10 minutes from the airport overlooking a lovely beach with good facilities, all staff very friendly especially Zac a very helpful person for anything.
  this villa is a haven of beauty and tranquility relax.
I would recommend it to couples and people passing even for a short time.
Adriana

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinisgalliadriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whilst in the Seychelles for a wedding, I needed to find somewhere for one night and after a bit of browsing, this place came up.
It was a very late booking and didn't know what to expect but within hours, Zack responded asking when I was going to arrive.
This place is stunning with amazing views straight onto the beach. It was clean, tidy, great facilities, in a great location and very good value.
Having the local dogs was also a big bonus.
Breakfast on the patio was brilliant.
Great atmosphere, made to feel very welcome.
Zack is fantastic. If I ever go back, I will stay here :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been there for 5 days & the whole stay there was fantastic. The manager (Zack) is such a friendly, lovely & nice person, he made our stay more memorable. The breakfast was just awesome, beach is just in front of the villa, a grocery (Kumar & Kumar) is just 1 minute walk, bus stop is just outside the villa entrance where anyone can ride a bus (5 rup) going to city Victoria,
Safety & security is perfect. In fact we had lovely time there. people with real smile unlike the big hotels where u just check in & check out, Great stay........
thanks to other people (Christ, Ivana, Dan) staying there, we just lived like a family.....Missing u guys....

Thanks to Zack & two lovely ladies, you guys are fantastic....

Room Tip: two types of Room on the top floor, 1. Sea View 2. Garden & Hill view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihsanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hi all,

If you are looking for a great B&B this is it. Friendly, helpful, 'centrally' located this place
is good value for money, meaning you don't pay for things you don't need. Price was perfect, not too much, not too little.
The breakfast is also interesting with lots of different island fruits. The beach is 10 meters from the front door, which for me was awesome, I could just walk out straight into the warm water! There is small shop (1 min walk away), which is great if you feel like sweets, chocolates, beer, biscuits...etc. About 15 min walk, or 5 min drive away is a small beach in Anse Royale. It is fairly popular, with a lot of different tropical fish. I saw about 20 different species the one day.
Opposite is a bus pick up point, which will take you all the way to Victoria for only SR5! (~USD 0.40c)
The atmosphere is a friend making one, it's not like a hotel where you check in, and leave without saying goodbye.
I had a super time.

Many thanks to Zack and his friendly staff.

Room Tip: rooms have either a sea view (sunrise) or mountain (forest) view. top floor rooms have high ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPfeif1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've had a lovely time. The location is really nice, with the ocean right outside your window. The room are confy and clean. All the staff, starting from the manager Zack, is really warm and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast is great as well, with a special metion for the homemade jam. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Villa Dorado is very nice place. When i considered in brochure, it seemed a nice place. But on arrival was pleasantly surprised by the fact that the villa was more beautiful than at the picture.We lived on the second floor and every day observed a fine view of the ocean and a wild beach. On villa it is very pure, on a site there is a lot of greens and a beautiful landscape. Manager is very friendly and sociable person and cooks delicious;) Generally the impression of living on villa remained very good!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matveevaekaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
10.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
10.5 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
133 reviews
4 mi away
Chez Batista Villas
Chez Batista Villas
#2 of 2 in Takamaka
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Relax Hotel and Restaurant
5.8 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dorado

Address: Pointe au Sel, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range: $156 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront guesthouse lies on the tranquil southeast coast of Mahe island (10 minutes from the international airport), the fairyland beaches wich offers excellent snorkelling experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dorado Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing