We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Seychelles Curry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anse Soleil Restaurant

Anse Soleil Restaurant
Ranked #83 of 99 Restaurants in Mahe Island
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Seychelles Curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The curries in the Cafe are simply great, they are hot and spicy. Try the mixed seafood curry, its the best curry by far on the island and half the price of most other restaurants. I liked the curry so much we went back 4 times and they even told me how to make the sauce :) Also Anse Soleil beach has got to be one of the best beaches on the island

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl-Thomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    97
    45
    46
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, mediocre food and pricey for quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Anse Soleil is a gorgeous location and could really be something. We expected better -- fresher -- quality food, but we came for the sunset and the atmosphere. Some posters have complained about the host, but he was kind to us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murten
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Creol Food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The very best creol curry we ate on Mahé! Wonderful beach, a bit tricky to get to the restaurant! May be not open in the evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank edaswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Weird cafeteria owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is not a restaurant but an inhospitable and dirty looking cafeteria called 'Chez Julien'. There is nothing friendly about it.

As my husband was turning the car round to park higher up from the restaurant a peculiar man started shouting at us so I replied that I was never coming to the Seychelles again. This seemed to quieten him down and he started mumbling something unpleasant about the English. When he saw that my husband was driving back up he left. Fortunately we had already eaten lunch and were not planning to eat in his café. However he did not know that but we may well have had a drink – not a chance after that. I decided the best course of action was to totally ignore him as he was clearly an extremely objectionable character.

We arrived at the small but very pretty beach fairly late in the afternoon and there were still quite a few people there so it must get quite crowded and the undertow was quite strong. If we returned to Anse Soleil we would only visit the beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Place Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is the best and cheapest restaurant you can eat in Seychelles. You will eat your money's worth,great view. i have been to this restaurant many times and you have to wait to be seated and you don't get to choose your own seat like every other restaurant,
i know some people call the owner a mad man or crazy, this man is running a business,not a playground, the parking is on private property not for beach parking only for restaurant guests,
i think people should respect his property and if you want good service you should ask Sir, Ma'am where can i seat, this restaurant is very small with limited seating area, i think if you show the owner Julian respect he will do the same in return.I love this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RONNIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anse Soleil Restaurant also viewed

Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 

Been to Anse Soleil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing