We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST RESORT!”
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is by far the best resort! This should be the number 1 resort in Mahe, from scenic views, to the rooms, the service, the activities, and the food (which is all amazing)! What a paradise!

We spent 7 days at Ephelia, for our honeymoon, and cannot help to compare every other place to this, and nothing compares!

I highly recommend this resort, no more comments needed, it speaks for itself.

If you are going to Mahe, stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 3,668 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the first time I have compelled to write a review on tripadvisor, as I loved my stay at the Constance Ephelia so much. My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week at the resort. Since we were on our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a senior suite. The room was absolutely beautiful, with a huge balcony as well. We were also kindly given a bottle of wine and wine vouchers to celebrate our big occassion. The room had a very good system of music/movies to also choose from, which was nice.

We ate at all of the restaurants and thought the food was very good, especially dinner at Adam & Eve and the breakfast at Seselwa. The beach was beautiful, we made use of North Beach every day. We also used the fitness center everyday. The buggy system is fun, we never had to wait very long, and it was nice being zipped around to see other sections of the resort.

There were a few minor glitches during our stay, such as there being no iron in the room, the water did not run for a bit when we initally got there (it came on soon after), and on our last night, we had to wait quite awhile to get a table at the buffet at Colossal. It also took some time for plates to be cleared on the 2 times that we dined there. However, all of these things were overlooked by the sheer beauty of the resort and the helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff!! The resort is absolutely beautiful, set upon acres and acres of lush greenary. Moreover, the staff were second to none. Everyone that we encountered was friendly and always very attentive. Their warm heartedness really made the place special to us.

All in all, we had an absolutely fantastic stay at the Constance Ephelia, and would love to go back!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Constance Ephelia for two weeks in March as a belated celebration for our fortieth wedding anniversary. It proved to be just the holiday that we needed. The weather was fantastic and the resort had everything that we could possibly need. Our room (senior suite) was comfortable, spacious and immaculate. We dined at all the restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed the quality and wide range of meals available. The beaches, sea and surrounding areas were beautiful and pristine. The buggy service was first-rate and enabled us to be ferried from our room to and from restaurants etc. completely hassle-free, whenever required. The gym and tennis courts were excellent and we made full use of them. All the staff we encountered worked so hard and their care, friendliness and professionalism contributed enormously to making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianneH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Constance Ephelia.We are delighted to know that your enjoyed your stay with us.
Your kind comments has been shared with the team which will motivate them to perform even better.
Thankyou for choosing Constance Ephelia & we hope to have you amongst us in our little paradise in not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I have spent 7 nights in Ephelia Resort of the Constance group this march. We have had the most wonderful holidays ever in this exceptional Resort. The Ephelia has everything you will need and more for your dream holidays.
Starting with the arrival at the resort the first impression was 'wow' and the welcome couldn't have been any more genuine. We were personally greeted by the Executive Manager Seema, with a warm and most attentive conversation; meanwhile she recommended and organized quickly the following days for us (just a few indiscreet phone calls, we did not even notice). She is an angel! We appreciate so much her charming way; she gave us wonderful suggestions.
After this special moment, we have been escorted by a kind Indian Guest Relations to our upgraded room, where a bottle of a superb tasty wine with delicious petit fours has been waiting for us. Thanks sooo much for this amazing Junior Suite and the details!!! We were delighted of this Junior Suite with this grand terrace. The room was wonderful, beautifully decorated and very specious with a chaise long lounge area and this king size bed, which feels like you felt down in a cloud. The bath room was perfect, very specious with a separation of the comfortable rain shower and bathtub and an integrated big wardrobe. The rooms are equipped with the most sophisticated items, like for example the Apple Box.
We have had a beautiful view to the South beach and one of the 5 swimming pools. The terrace was equipped with luxurious and most comfortable furniture.
This resort offers a big range of facilities and sports activities which could not have been better: Windsurf, Tennis, Diving, Kayaking, Paddle surf. We have tried all of them!!! We have used the Spa for a relaxing Aroma Therapy Massage and the Sauna; they have pampered us so well.
For mi, one of the highlights was the morning Yoga in this precious Spa Zone, just so Zen and relaxing.
Both of us we are used to work in hospitality and gastronomy. Me, personally, I love experimenting food. We have tried all of the 5 restaurants of the resort. We were surprised of the quality of the products, maximum fresh and tasty and the service was outstanding in every restaurant. We loved the Japanese restaurant for lunch, we went several times. The Sashimi selection was so delicious.
I have to repeat that the whole team is very professional, truly helpful and genuine. In general we have observed that the resort is incredibly good managed by the two Executive Managers, Seema and Franz. They are conducting their orchestra very smart and subtle. Chapeaux, we have been both truly impressed! Such a treat!
They have made our stay the most memorable experience ever. We will definitely return to this authentic paradise as you reached our expectations more than exceeded.
Special thanks and greetings to both of them and their whole team!
Hugs from Barcelona and hopefully sea you very soon!
Yours Edouard and Katharina

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Mr.Edouard & Ms.Katherina,
Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent stay at Constance Ephelia.We are delighted to know that you carried back fond memories of your stay with us.
It is our endeavour to make the stay of each & every guest a truly memorable one.Your acknowlegement of our services will only make us strive for better.
Thank you for choosing Constance Ephelia & hope to welcome you back in not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Seychelles must be one of the most beautiful destinations. What we loved about Ephelia is that, although it is big resort, you never feel crowded. The layout of the resort is so well planned that you really experience the ambiance of the island. The beaches are never crowded especially on the southern side. We arrived very early in the morning and were welcomed with drinks. Coffee and croissants were available and our room was ready within an hour. That was really appreciated. The dinners were great. We stayed in a junior suite with our son and loved the setting and the spacious balcony. The staff were attentive and very friendly. Everytime we requested something it was attended to immediately. Ephelia really offered us a very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. We left with happy memories. I can really recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for yuor comments on trip advisor.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind comments for our hotel and services. Your generous indication of our performance is our source of inspiration to strive better.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manger
Regional General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel with it's huge territory gives best of Seychelles: plenty of beaches, natural variety, relaxation.
Many of reviews here are exaggerations either into one or another direction.
Constance Ephelia is quiet reasonable resort, but it's main asset is nature. Judging by Junior Suit it's not luxury resort, but good 4.5* resort.
Depending on your activities you can find not only North beach with it's easily accessible snorkelling and South with shallow water but as well Lans Anglais with bigger waves, 3-4 small secluded beaches on both sides of North and one accessible only by trail from hillside villas. Here is even one nice beach 15 minutes walk to left from North gate outside hotel (opposite direction 5 min is local shop where for SCR 15 you get 1l of drinking water).
We were living in Junior suite (2+child) and it was reasonably large, well designed in minimalist style. Only beware from bedside lamps- you can easily hit them with head and they are made from iron.
We had ground floor and where satisfied because didn't have to worry about child taking stairs. I saw so few people from terrace that didn't feel bothered.
If you want to be easy walking distance (don't forget it gets really hot around noon) from main activities, ask for suites 1xx or 4xx. 2xx and especially 3xx are father away- you will need either to walk a lot or every time look for buggy.
As most people are expected to go to beaches not much attention is given to pools- they are well tiled, but shallow and simple, water getting hot in afternoon.
Being with child we usually went for diner to Corossol, where buffet was plentiful with good selection of french style desserts. Every day it had some theme, like Creole, Aqua, Indian, etc. Pity that very tasty Creole salads we had only once per week.
Choice was much more limited for breakfast. My recommendation- pancakes and omelettes. Unfortunately fruit selection was quite limited for such location.
Once we tried Cyann and food and atmosphere there was really good, not like Adam&Eve where we once had lunch and it was not value for money.
If you are not on half-board count on additional EUR 70-100 ppn for diner.
Service level in general was good and most of personal was friendly and cheerful.
Here is free wi-fi, albeit quite slow and almost not accessible after 6 p.m. We went to kids club as well but it gets quite hot here around noon.
Those who don't have late check-out but have flights at night can use departure lounge with good showers and computers, but weak air conditioning. We had late check-out in our package (if available) and transfer at 21.15 but didn't get it because of "fully booked hotel"(truthfulness we could not check), so had to use this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our second visit to the Constance Ephelia - we returned as everything had been perfect when we went for our honeymoon last year. Unfortunately the service had deteriorated drastically and it spoiled our holiday.

We had to report a problem with the a/c twice before it was resolved. The resort does not allow vehicles and all transportation is by golf cart shuttle service. This is advertised to run every 10 minutes - we had to wait sometime 15 or 20 minutes for a shuttle and only waited because of the rain! The bar at the Adam & Eve was another area that left a lot to be desired. Every time we wanted a drink we had to go up to the bar as the staff were too busy talking among themselves. The service improved a lot the following day, after we had reported it to a Customer Service Manager! However, we did not think we should have to make complaints in a 5* Spa Resort! The Adam & Eve restaurant is now a Chinese, and the food is very nice. On the last night we ate at Selsawa but did not realise until we got there that it was a set menu with no choice at all! The main course was lobster thermidor which, although I love lobster, I did not enjoy as it was full of mushrooms (never had mushrooms with lobster thermidor before!). The best part of the meal was the dessert!

In the main restaurant one evening we arrived a little later & the staff seemed to be unwilling to reset a table! They did when the restaurant manager arrived and we didn't mind waiting, but it not set a good impression.

The room was nice (but not as nice as last time) and clean but we very much doubt we will return to the Ephelia as it is not what we expect of a 5* Resort Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on the outside if in a Junior or Senior suite - there's more light (windows) in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaudiSue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at Constance Ephelia.We are truly disappointed to know that you second visit to our resort did not live up the expectation.Please accept our sincere apologies for the various service shortfalls.Please note that each & every comment has been passed on to the concerned manager for immediate corrective action.
Should you decide to visit Constance Ephelia again please be assured of our personal attention to ensure you have a memorable stay.
Kind Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahe Island
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
16.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range: $380 - $1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing