We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constance Ephelia - A Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constance Ephelia
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Constance Ephelia - A Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family, which includes three teenagers, spent one week at this resort in a beach villa. The property is located about 45 minutes from the airport on a large plot of land with two beaches, intact rain forest and landscaped gardens. Our villa was clean and comfortable with lovely linens, 5 star bathrooms and excellent audio visual equipment including free movies and lots of music which my kids appreciated. The north beach is one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen anywhere. The snorkelling was excellent, the sailing quite challenging in the bay and the beach breathtakingly beautiful. We tried paddle boarding and kayaking in this bay and saw turtles, rays and reef sharks as well as many types of fish. Kayaking in the mangroves was also interesting as we learned a lot about this specialized ecosystem. A very pleasant surprise were two short hikes on the property; one to a deserted beach and the other to stunning cliffs with steps carved down to the sea. The forest is pristine and very wild. We didn't expect to see such interesting plants and birds in this location. We also did some rock climbing and zip lining, again on site which was fun and educational. Food was good and plentiful although nothing exceptional. We only ate one meal at the main restaurant as it felt a bit industrial serving so many people. We found the service excellent throughout our stay. If we asked for anything staff went out of their way to help. The staff is very international which helped ensure that specific needs could be met. We visited the spa and used the onsite gym / squash court which were both very well designed. Service in the spa was super but the treatments are quite pricey.
One disadvantage is that the resort is spread over quite a large area. We used bicycles to get around which was convenient and easy for my family as we all ride regularly. There are shuttle buses (golf carts) for those people who do not ride bikes but this may discourage people from moving around the resort. My teenagers also said they missed motorized activities in the ocean which are not possible as the resort is in / near a marine park. While in the Seychelles we visited another beach and ate at a couple of places outside of the resort. It was good to learn more about Mahe but the best of what we saw was on site at Constance Ephelia. I would highly recommend this resort to other families or couples. It is fine for solo travellers although there was not much interaction between guests even in the bars

Room Tip: We preferred the North beach and the beach villas were absolutely fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,980
    871
    285
    110
    49
See reviews for
776
2,064
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked 14 nights at this resort in october. Our room was the standard junior suite which was more than enough with a large bed, bath, TV, walk in shower, outside terrace as we were downstairs and the usual mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities and complemenary wifi. We were located right next to the pool (the quietest one of the 4) part of Helios. The resort itself is beautiful located right in the middle of a mangrove forest which meant the wildlife was very near, to the extent twice we had giant crabs literally knocking at our door in the morning; in the seychelles breakfast comes to you! The food at the main restaurant was fantastic, cuisine from all over the world with different themed buffets every night; the arabic night and the lamb tagine are to die for! We could never eat 3 meals a day so we opted for half board, and even then we could never eat a 3 course main meal and only 4 times had a pudding which was usually ice cream; their pineapple and orange ice creams are a must. The resort has so much to do, using the TV guide you could never get bored at the resort itself with ziplining, the spa, bike excursions, the gym and various other activities to take part in, this would be in addition to any tours you wanted to do off the resort. We were very lucky with the weather it was very very hot most of the time we were there. My husband unfortunately ended up with an ear infection through diving so the second week we spent mostly by the phone in our room waiting for the resort doctor to call for him to have his treatement daily, so we never managed to do any island hopping which would have been nice, but that means if we decide to return to the Seychelles we can do that in the future. The staff at the resort are brilliant, Valerie who cleaned our room most days was extremely thorough and we always knew when she had been in by the lovely smell and the general cleanliness. Our waiters for the main restaurant were always friendly and had our table ready in the mornings and evenings always there to attend to your needs. All in all a very very good resort and very impressed with their eco-friendliness and how they have developed this resort. The only glitch (apart from my husbands illness) was the fact we were in the same block as most of the Emirates flight staff, and we were awake most mornings at 0530hrs with the "trolly dollies" clip clip clip of their high heels on the floors above us when ready to depart, but saying all that we could always go back to sleep. I do have to make mention of the ground staff who worked tirelessly in the gardens sweeping leaves and planting new plants; except one of them in particular, we had a gang of about 3 consisting of 2 females and one male, and one particular female was the laziest member of that group I have ever seen, the other 2 did all her work for her whilst she managed to sit on her backside doing nothing; If I managed this resort I would pay more attention to what they were up to because tourists on holiday who have nothing better to do notice things like this! I would definitely recommend this resort and am also looking at their Helaveli resort in the Maldives for our next holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the 400 block of junior suites by Helios which is the quietest of the 4 pools and right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pittbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Located an hour of so from the airport, the hotel is built on a beautiful 120 hectare (300 acre) plot of land. Owing to the size, the resort is split into North side and South side, each with its own offering of restaurants, pools, beaches etc. The design and architecture is truly breath taking, supplementing the natural beauty of the area.

Apart from the main dining hall, there are 4 other restaurants (one is currently closed for renovations). Food quality is good, but you need to book in advance. There is an impressive wine selection.

Each room has an excellent entertainment system, built on a Mac mini. The architect has done an excellent job to create visually pleasing rooms, however, in my opinion the design is not always attuned to practical living. For instance, in the senior suites, the bathroom has plenty of space, but not enough space is provided for toiletries. There is no reading light in the beautiful balcony. The villas, in particular the mountain ones, are spectacular. Each has a magnificent view, with private pool.

However, the disappointing aspect is service. The hotel employs 850 or so staff, with a third or so being imported staff. There is some staff (in particular management) providing a truly exceptional service, but unfortunately the majority seems to forget or ignore the fact that they are in the service industry. Some call it the "tropical island mentality", which is exasperated by socialist way of governing and thinking. During our stay, we had interesting and lengthy discussions with the management team. They were extremely aware of the need to improve in this area and they are implementing various schemes to motivate staff more. With focus and persistence, I am sure the management team can succeed.

Despite having so many pools, none were great for kids under the age of 4. The pool at the kids' club is designed with a relatively steep slope, which makes it difficult for young kids to run around without falling.

Apart from the shortcomings listed above, this really is a great resort with some stunning views and beaches. We had many discussions with management on our feedback and they do acknowledge the shortcomings. I very much hope these can be addressed, as this could be a truly unbeatable offering if service is improved a few notches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is a very high end resort with excellent beaches and excellent accommodations. The service is 5 stars, with very well maintained grounds and the staff spares no attention to detail. The resort has very large grounds with two great beaches and many pools. There are not many people here for the size so there are no crowds. Here are the pros and cons of the resort as I see them.

Pros
The place is 5 stars and the amenities match the rating.
The beaches are some of the nicest I have ever been to.
There are many great places to hang out and laze in the sun. Two beaches, multiple pools with lots of sun beds all around and there is alot of privacy.
The rooms are very spacious with a nice bed, bathroom and a huge deck.
The food is very good and well prepared.
The staff is very polite and the resort caters to any request or needs that you might have.
There are many more pros for this place.

Cons
This is a high end resort with a price to match. This is not a bargain vacation destination so don't expect it.
The resort is out of the way so there are not any other places to eat at and the restaurants are very expensive. Dinners will run at least 150 Euros for two with wine.
They close all of the snack bars at 5PM so you have to eat at the expensive restaurants for dinner.
Our room was a bit tired but still very nice. Some of the wood furniture had signs of wear but it was not an issue. We had a Jr. Suite and it was very nice none the less.
The south beach has broken glass along the shoreline so beware. We would pick up several pieces each and every day. Not sure if the locals are doing this on purpose. Your holiday could be ruined in a heartbeat if you step on some of the pieces we collected. I think the resort should address this.


All in all it is a fantastic place and a great destination and I would definitely go back and recommend anyone to stay here. You will have a great time. Especially if you just want to hang out at the beach and pool and do nothing but relax.
Driving is a trip here, you better have good skills and lots of confidence because the roads are very narrow with large drop-offs on both sides so beware, I got use to this after a time.
It's a beautiful island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jr Suite, We did have a pretty nice view but were next to the Adam and Eve resturan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort was really excellent - both the service and the facilities.
- The quality of the rooms, buildings and facilities (inc gym and spa) is very good. Very new buildings, well equipped gym, uber relaxing spa, Apple mini driven online services, many many free films on demand, free wifi across the entire resort.
- Choice at breakfast is abundant, and did not make us bored over a week of stay.
- Great water activities (diving + free snorkelling, swimming, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding, sailing etc). There is a great snorkelling spot right in the resort's bay, or go to Ternay Bay next door. I swam several times next to sea turtles!!
- If you are into running, jog along road outside entrance(s) to the right until the church (flat) or left until Ternay Bay (2.7km but very hilly).
- Room service for dinner on private balcony is highly recommended. However be prepared that when you order sushi they might bring you whatever they have rather than what you ordered exactly; just be up for some surprise!
- There is a small shop just outside of North entrance for some local snaks and drinks. Open late but closed for an extended lunch break.


On the negative side:
- we were unlucky with the weather and had substantial rain all week long. If you are not a fan of water activities, such weather could be a bit difficult to deal with
- the resort restaurants are at the expensive side, and mostly buffets - however quality is really good.
- there are buggies to transport people from various points of the resort. They are far from being regular and you might have to walk more often and longer than you wanted to. Having said that, the entire resort is manageable on foot.
- the resort is a bit far from everything else (unless you have a car), including restaurants outside the resort in case you want to try something other than the several restaurants inside.

Other comments:
- expect ca 45 min taxi drive from the airport along winding roads across the hills in the middle of the island, costing ca 700 SR.
- keep some cash for the airport at departure as they do not accept cards inside the terminal.

Room Tip: Senior Rooms are all along the North Beach that is better for swimming/ water activities than the So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CK_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you like luxury and want to have your own Bounty story, definitely choose this hotel and you won't regret! Best beach, perfect food, smiley staff, all perfect! There are club cars which take you to South and North beach if you wish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

One the best resorts I have seen so far travelling across the world. Very spacious resort which includes everything you need for a perfect vacation. 2 wonderful beaches, several nice pool areas, Fitness, squash , 2 Spa, Watersports, etc, etc
Great rooms , very spacious with latest technical equipment and very nice design.
Several nice restaurants across the resort from Buffett to nice private dinner.
The staff is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. This place is definitely worth coming back soon !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schadinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Property: Constance Ephelia
Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious contemporary accommodations surrounded by lush landscape and scintillating lagoons, a beautiful spa village to revive your senses; choose from one of our 42 Tropical Garden View Rooms, 184 Junior Suites, 40 Senior Suites, 17 Family Villas, 16 Beach Villas, 8 Hillside Villas, 5 Spa Villas or our unique Presidential Villa. Choose an accommodation that suits your needs, whether it’s one of the magnificent Junior Suite or the unique Presidential Villa. Feast on delicious dishes and cocktails while marvelling at the deep blue of the Indian Ocean with a private dinner on the beach or in one of our restaurants. For a truly pampering moment, choose from a canopy of treatments from U Spa by Constance while your kids are having their share of adventures and fun at the Constance Kids Club.Situated on two of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Mahe, overlooking the marine national park of Port Launay, Constance Ephelia enjoys a unique location set within 120 hectares of land with luxuriant and rare vegetation. All suites and villas are spaciously designed and stylishly decorated with breathtaking views on either the luxuriant garden or partial view of the Indian ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing