We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Scots Hotel(Tiberias)
$390
$328
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prima Too(Tiberias)
$125
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$212
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$745
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$151
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Emily's Hotel(Tiberias)
$167
$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ron Beach Hotel(Tiberias)
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
49
40
60
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
40
60
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe staff was friendly and helpfulplace to staycomfortable bedhotel is situatedroom was largeisraelgalileefurniturelakesleepingkinneret
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 186 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Nov 9 - Nov 12 2012.

Part of a group of 33 and the majority experienced cramped rooms, views of hotel walls, poorly equipped bathrooms (faulty shower heads). Others were even less fortunate and had cockroaches in their rooms.

Reception staff were distant and unhelpful. Manager(s) of dining area were distant and unfriendly. However two young Eastern European waitresses brought a ray of sunshine to the dining room.


Had noticed other TA reviews regarding staff attitudes to access to hotel pool. We were even less fortunate- we were not allowed to access area to view pool. Maybe there is no pool!

One plus the food was good quality and the bar man was hospitable and new the meaning of the term "customer service"

Room Tip: Apparently there were larger rooms with views of the sea and some of our group were allocated those. No idea of price differential as we all paid a fixed fee for the trip.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 141DISAPPOINTED2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Israel as part of a group of 33. We stayed in the Astoria for the last three nights on a B&B plus evening meal basis. My own room was small; windows were ill fitting and did not exclude traffic noise; beds were very low and small. Ladies in the group observed that cleaning had obviously been done by men! Food was quite good in terms of choice, quantity and quality, and waitresses smiled! Several of our party had to change rooms due to complaints about size and cleanliness. One lady caught a cockroach (one of several in her room) in a glass and brought it down to reception to demand a change of room. In general the hotel is down at heel and not well placed for access to the town centre. I have used much better 3 star hotels in Tiberias and would not willingly return to the Astoria!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my second time staying in the hotel, and it does lack in a few areas. The staff are mostly very friendly, but the place is not up to par in terms of cleanliness, food quality, food selections. The rooms are so small. I would equate the food with a cafeteria buffet. But it was ok for the price. There wasn't anything close by for one to walk and enjoy. The streets in this part of town are narrow and dangerous. Always look both ways!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gman19641964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you want posh, don't go there. But for us, we were touring all day and especially through Hotwire, the price was right -- about $105 per night. We literally were there from 6pm onward each of the three days we stayed there. Breakfast included is pretty good. Dinner can be had for a very reasonable price. Wifi good in lobby, though in room hit and miss for us at least. Pool was a big plus with my son. The pool was quite nice. A/C was terrific which is not necessarily an easy find even in better hotels. All and all, the hotel met our needs quite well. Lastly, not a great location -- up on the hill -- so basically, you have to taxi to town or the lake, which was not a problem for us. Places closer to town didn't seem worth it to me as I drove past them. There is a playground nearby which we used after dinner which was sweet. Centrally located if you're touring the Golan and the Galilee regions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for one night. We were looking for a clean, reasonably-priced hotel in Tiberias, and that's what we found in the Astoria Galilee. It's a no-frills hotel with decent rooms. Although it's not on the main waterfront strip, busses will get you there easily and cheaply. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was edible.

A good option if you're traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews