We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Very Good...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Breakfast was very good as well as the people behind it

The only mistake of this hotel is this>>>> ".Important Information Please note, VAT (Value-Added Tax) will be added to the rate for Israeli citizens only. Guests who are not Israeli citizens do not pay VAT." It is clearly said and very well understood that ONLY Israeli citizens! I debated, argued, and complained to the receptionist as well as to the manager because they demanded me to pay VAT to the fact that I am not a citizen here but just a worker. The explanation they gave was unacceptable for they said that only the tourists are not entitled to VAT. Then they should write 'Only tourists will not pay VAT instead of, VAT (Value-Added Tax) will be added to the rate for Israeli citizens only.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 182 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very pleasant hotel
Value for money
I did not expect it.
Nice rooms ;good food and a pleasant swimmingpool
The servicewas also good.
The location was not close to the lake but I did not mind bebause these hotels are minimum double the price.
In our case it did not matter also ,because we had rented a car and the hotel had enough free parking space

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked this hotel on points for 2 nights. What a mistake, even for free. We left after one night and would have after no nights if we could have worked it out. This is a hostel at best, would be fine for college students traveling on the cheap. The pictures make it actually look better than it is, it's much worse in person, I should have listened to the reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekender1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Clean and spacious room, free wifi. Nice pool although you get the feeling they want you out of there asap. Total atmosphere is a little depressing in the hotel. Breakfast room is old and the breakfast offered a lot but it was just not attractive. One morning there was no tea and to get your toast you had to put your arm in the machine. Also a little too distant from the center, you need a car or taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariekeR610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Went there many times. I love this
Hotel. Great food clean rooms and friendly service! There is no reason to pay More In tiberias. Very good as a base to tour the galilee area.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because Tsfat was full. It's dated and our twin room was small although it had a nice view. The hotel is high up and so we tended to walk to Tiberius and get a taxi back. Breakfast was excellent. Service at reception was okay but not very helpful when we asked questions about transport it was pretty expensive for what is really a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancasterRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Astoria Galilee Hotel is a home base for groups, for some days, but you can stay here for several days without group as well.My experience is good. Well organized, good breakfast, good dinner and good beds. Your trips you have to make yourselves !

Room Tip: The hotel is in a residential area, has a swimming-pool, possibility of cheap and good dinner, bus-c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinus z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.6 mi away
Club Hotel Tiberias
Club Hotel Tiberias
#30 of 38 in Tiberias
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima Too
Prima Too
#25 of 38 in Tiberias
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emily's Hotel
Emily's Hotel
#8 of 38 in Tiberias
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prima Galil
Hotel Prima Galil
#11 of 38 in Tiberias
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#16 of 38 in Tiberias
83 reviews
2 mi away
Mineral Tiberias
Mineral Tiberias
#12 of 38 in Tiberias
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias

Address: 13 Bruriah St., Tiberias 14366, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing