We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining”
Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pluses: Excellent restaurant, with an outstanding buffet for breakfast and dinner (and, I assume, lunch as well, but we are always out during the day). Both the variety and the quality of the dishes is impressive!
Views over the Sea of Galilee. Very friendly staff. Cute hotel with character.
Minuses: The rooms and bathrooms are small and a little dated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    134
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
136
292
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The character of the hotel is beautiful and; Location
is also perfect as you are right opposite the lake and
Minutes from the city centre. Everything about the hotel
Is luxury, relaxation and comfort.

The rooms are lovely, really big, the bed is massive
And comfy. You get free L'occitidine products too
(Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion)

The grounds are big and lovely, there is a quiet I room,
A pool and a gym. The pool is very big and there is alot of
Shady spots provided, the pool and gym are free to use and
There is wellness centre.

The staff are really polite,lovely and helpful. They took
Our bags up. The little touches were nice, they
Delivered chocolates and in the morning there was a
Newspaper outside our door. Upon arrival there
Was a bottle of water and olives.

If u have a generous budget and want luxury and
Comfort this is your hotel :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge Co., Wisconsin
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is amazing. And it had better be at these prices! Cannot believe that they ask you to pay for WIFI on per device basis. Why go to all the trouble providing amenities like: welcome hot toddy at reception, espresso maker, premium teas, welcome shortbread in room, sumptuous breakfast buffet, L'Occitane toiletries, rain shower showerhead in bath, feather pillows, turn down service with chocolates, pool attendant, and a view of the Sea of Galilee that is unsurpassed and then scrimp on providing free WIFI?? If the goal is to provide a welcoming oasis where every need is taken care of with minimal hassle to the guest, then they are missing the point. When I asked to talk to a manager about this policy at check-in. The clerk said that she would be returning later in the evening. When I came back she had been and gone and then wasn't there in the morning to discuss this either. The front clerk became downright snippy with me, insinuating that I somehow didn't understand the way hotels work when I inquired why this amenity was not free like so many others the hotel offers. LOL

Room Tip: I am not sure that there is a bad room in this hotel. Those facing the Sea of Galilee are stupendou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinity100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The best assortment of local and international dishes I have encountered at any restaurant. Every meal was amazing! Rooms were luxe and the historical character of the place makes it a great choice to stay if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I like nice hotels. My wife likes hotels with a story. The Scots is both. A 19th century hospital converted into a modern hotel. I won't repeat all of the amenities, you can see a list on their page. However I will say that, not only is the Scots the nicest hotel in Tiberius (albeit the expensive) but it may be the only one that serves bacon and eggs for breakfast. (The buffet is really good.) The location is right down town, easy walking to shops and the shore-walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayandteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

In my business I travel a lot, and if I'm in Tiberias or Galilee the Scot Hotel is always my first choice. I lost track of how many times I have been here since it was opened. in my last visit the spa was open.
The only place in Israel I feel at home, I know the staff and I get the super duper service I love so much.
No doubt the old wing rooms are unique and have lot of spirit, in world standard. The new wing has no comparisons but get some of the unique spirit of the place. Breakfast is outstanding.

Room Tip: Spend the extra buck for room on the old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel property is well located in Tiberius. The desserts at dinner were terrific, and the breakfast was excellent. We had the buffet. The rooms were very nice, and the layout of the facility was interesting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.1 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#14 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#12 of 37 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Property: Scots Hotel
Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#5 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing