We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the visit”
Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were very dissapointed at our recent sat at this hotel. The service at the dining room was very bad. My husband had ordered a birthday cake for me. When he reminded the waiter, again and again it took a half hour. Next morning at breakfast a napking was folded with silverwere inside. Opening it we found it to be soiled and so was the knive and fork.

When we woke up on day two, I was horrified to discover that our sheets were soiled with blood and some other bodily fluid. Obviously they had not washed these sheets after the previous use. Totally disgusting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelers7870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 687 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Several of us stayed on the 5th floor of the main (David) building, which is one of the "deluxe" floors. All the rooms there are beautiful and spacious, and they're all on the same side of the building, overlooking the water. My room was on one of the ends, so in addition to the beautiful view down to the water, I also had a window on another wall with a view in another direction, and that's a nice bonus. Fridge and water heater included, which I appreciated.

Comfortable and roomy layout, a large enough desk, plenty of spots to put things without them getting in the way, and comfortable chairs for hanging out with friends. It's both a smoothly functional room if you just want to use it is a place to change, sleep, shower, and work, and also an inviting, beautiful, comfortable place to spend time in, on your own or with others.

Speaking of beautiful views from the hotel room... there are also beautiful views from all over the hotel grounds. It's made up of a number of buildings, with gardens and stairs and fountains in between, and from much of the grounds you can see parts of Tiberias, the "sea" (lake), and the far shore.

Service at the hotel is excellent. Hotel employees, including cleaning staff, food preparers and servers, groundskeepers, front desk, all seem to like it there and want you to have a good experience.

Food at the hotel restaurant is like going out to a very good restaurant. Even the breakfast buffet is wonderful, with a very wide variety of cheeses and salads and breads and cakes, and an omelet station.

Pool and spa (including jacuzzi) are very very nice, and outdoors. Unfortunately they close early, so you can't use them in the evening or at night.

P.S.
One problem with the room was that it had only a few open electrical outlets and some of them were controlled by light switches elsewhere in the room, which was not obvious. First, I plugged my laptop in to charge overnight and found out the next morning that the battery was running low because the outlet I plugged it into was operated by a switch I'd turned off. The next day I put the laptop on another outlet, and put my camera battery charger on the switch-controlled outlet. When I returned to my room hours later, I accidentally switched that one off when entering the room. Even though I noticed and switched it right back on, it was now impossible to see whether my battery had fully charged, because the charger thought it was starting a new charge cycle. ... and then that night I found out that outlet was controlled by a switch I *had* to turn off for the night, because it controlled an overhead light and I couldn't sleep with it on, so I had to shuffle various items to charge overnight. Very annoying. I wish all the outlets just stayed on all the time so I wouldn't have to think about it and make mistakes; if an outlet *must* be switch-controlled, I wish it were very clearly and obviously labelled, including which switch controls it.

Smaller problems:
1. Bed was made up of two single beds pushed together, so it had a crack in the middle.
2. Bathroom lights cannot entirely be turned off, though you can close the bathroom door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The best parts of this hotel are the amazing views, the gorgeous grounds, the wonderul food, the service/staff, and the location. You won't get any better when it comes to this part of Israel. The parts that need some attention are the rooms. They could do with new decor, and the beds were over firm. We had to get extra comforters to stack on the bed to make it sleepable. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone...it is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The area around the Sea of Galilee has many Hotels. The Scotts has the formula for consistant success. Much of that is based on wonderful buffet breakfast and lunches. The view of the Sea of Galilee is great and even if you had a car it would be easier just to walk into Tiberias because it;s across the street. Go and explore the town and Boardwalk area and watch the laser show at night. It's kind or corny but fun. The Scott is near Copernum and a great place to explore the Golan Heights as a central place to travel from. It significantly more money than the other area hotels but consistently proves it's worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a View of the Sea of Galilee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent an excellent three nights at this hotel and would definitely recommend. We had standard rooms, but they were still luxurious - lovely decor and the beds very comfy. The breakfast is something else! What a selection. Eggs cooked to order and a selection of sweet and savoury food that made decision making difficult. The service was very good and the reception, in particular, very friendly. There is a bar where delicious food is served - this was particularly useful if you find the extensive evening buffet too much. We also had a jazz singer one night, who had a lovely voice. All in all a great hotel, in a great position to see the wonderful sights around the Sea of Galilee.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Other than the slow reception (for some reason it took the receptionist ages to assign us the rooms...) we loved this hotel. The hotel is beautiful, therooms are quite spacious and the food is excellent. There are also very good entertainmant program in the evnings (not sure if its all the time or we were just lucky, but when we were there we had the chance to see the performance of Ronit Shachar who is a wonderful israeli singer). Last but not least, they have great spa treatments (i loved my masseuse... I think her name was Ilena but am not sure. She was from Russian origin and was very professional).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LF-Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A wonderful combination of historical & modern buildings. All rooms are big and nicely equipped. The gardens are marvelous, giving a wonderful atmosphere.
The staff is very professional and helpful. The food is excellent. The new spa is great.
My family choose this place as a favorite to spend holidays together.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.3 mi away
U Boutique Kinneret
U Boutique Kinneret
#10 of 38 in Tiberias
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#15 of 38 in Tiberias
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caesar Premier Tiberias
Caesar Premier Tiberias
#4 of 38 in Tiberias
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#13 of 38 in Tiberias
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 1420807, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range: $314 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing