We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for exploring Galilee, but a bit over-priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Tiberias
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring Galilee, but a bit over-priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

This is a nice hotel overlooking the Sea of Galilee. I booked one of the antique rooms and paid a premium for it - I was a little bit disappointed - for the price, I think they could have done a lot more with the room which had a lot of potential to be really amazing. That said, the room rate did include a fabulous, gourmet breakfast and dinner (not kosher) with a spread of delicious local products. If you do stay in the antique rooms, you have access to the balconies which are very nice places to sit and enjoy the view of the Sea of Galilee. The gardens are lovely too and there is a good sized swimming pool which you access via a bridge across the road. You can get spa services (massage etc..) but they are done in a converted guest room - there is no spa as such. Overall, this is a nice place to stay, and a good place for accessing the galilee area, I just would have expected a bit more luxury for the price I paid.

  • Liked — The food and the views of the Sea of Galilee
  • Disliked — It did not feel like value for money
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    134
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
136
288
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and what a delight they were. The hotel is a boutique hotel and hence you get the warm feeling. The rooms were big, clean and nice. The restaurant was gorgeous with excellant meals. It's not in the city centre like the other huge hotels but I think thats better. Anyway the city centre is only 2 minutes walking distance. Since it has only 50 rooms it provides a fabolous atmosphere. Lovely!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank zackist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

I stayed with my wife at the Scots hotel to celebrate her birthday. It was a great experience and we loved every minute. Our stay was half board and dinner was real gourmet. The hotel is pricey but it is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LLBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

I stayed at the Scots for three nights. The service was very good, the room was spacious, with a magnificent view of the lake. I booked the antique with lake view.

Breakfast had enough variety (i.e. different types of bread, fish, eggs....) and the people were always very courteous.

The only thing I didn't like was that internet was extra ($24 per day???) and I think a hotel of that category should probably include it in the rate and offer the service. But across the street there were three internet places for about US$1 per hour, so it wasn't really a big problem.

The location is excellent. I had a car and it was easy to get out of Tiberias and come back. Also it was close to a major street to go out for a walk, and some good restaurants and cafes for dinner.

Security was outstanding as well....

I loved that the hotel had history, and it wasn't just another big building full of rooms. You'll love it.

  • Liked — Beautiful view
  • Disliked — Expensive internet access
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Psykiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

One of the nicest hotels in Israel. The room and grounds are beautiful and location is perfect--walking distance to shops and restaurants. The breakfast was a magnificent spread. The lake view room is not necessary, save $ on the garden room.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — only one computer for guests and 8$ per hour to use
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaurPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December, 2007. Our biggest concerns were the stench of a dead animal (perhaps a cat?) that came from the elevator shaft, and the cigarette odor in all 3 rooms that we sampled. We complained many times re the dead animal stench. Someone then sprayed the area with perfume, so we then had a perfumed dead animal stench. When we complained about the cigarette odor, we were told that this is a non smoking hotel, and also that the staff had no control over what guests did in their rooms. There were no "Please do not smoke" reminders in any of the rooms.

The room that we finally settled in, despite the cigarette odor, had very basic furniture, and when one takes a shower, the entire bathroom becomes a lake. We were advised by hotel staff to open the windows to ventilate the room from cigarette smoke. Later it got cold, and we shut the windows. It was still cold, and we were having trouble with the thermostat. When we telephoned reception, we were told that the hotel had not yet turned on the heating system for the season (This being December 16), and that they could supply us with extra blankets. We said that we were not cold in bed; we were cold in the room. When they finally turned on the heating, we still had no heat, because the room's thermostat was broken. Eventually it was repaired.

The building that we stayed in has no service elevator, and guests ride the elevator together with dirty laundry bins.

Breakfast buffet dishes are not replenished. When a tomato salad platter is empty, why not at least remove the empty platter?

In lieu of dinner's expensive buffet, hotel guests have the option to order something a la carte at the bar, but the bar staff is clueless (What is the soup of the day? "I don't know, I'll find out"; several minutes later, we ask again; "Oh, did you want me to find out?"), and the bread roles (at an extra fee) are stale.

I wonder why the gardener does not remove flower pots with dying plants (and some of the pots have no plants at all).

While the hotel staff is mostly courteous, this can't be said for the hotel's gift shop staff.

If any of the above were to occur at a one- or two-star hotel, I would have no complaints. But not at a hotel of this caliber. It isn't worth the money. I will not be returning, and I cannot recommend it.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank danielbgadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

I have stayed at the Scots Hotel on two separate occasions. In fact, on my last stay I had the misfortune of slipping on some stairs- my fault totally, not the hotels- and the staff was extremely helpful and concerned. Fortunately, I was fine, but it just reinforced my opinion of the property. Very, very nice place to stay. I recommend it highly. The rooms are superior, with great beds and televisions, the food is excellent and it's located right in the middle of things.

  • Liked — They were of a very high quality.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike at all.
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank filmtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.1 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#14 of 38 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 38 in Tiberias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#12 of 38 in Tiberias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Club Hotel Tiberias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Property: Scots Hotel
Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#5 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing