We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel in Tiberius”
Review of Scots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scots Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Tiberias
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel in Tiberius”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The history of this hotel gives it a unique quality similar to staying at the Banff Springs Hotel in Canada...As a former monastary and hospital, rooms are "rugged" in style with stone walls, porches to look out at the Sea of Galilee. The rooms are clean and comfortable but not modern in decor or amenities.

As part of our tour of Israel, we enjoyed staying here for 2 nights vs other hotels that we had heard were of far less quality in the area.

However, a word of caution: the buffet dinner is very pricey in the hotel and their weekend dining rate actually starts on a Thursday eve as opposed to Friday. Rates for the weekend buffets are even higher!! Be prepared to spend about $100 pp (US) which is very expensive for the food offerings.

The breakfast buffet was nice...although it was included in our package price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhkfreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    135
    61
    21
    17
See reviews for
138
295
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This extraordinary hotel, rich in history, offers superb rooms and a cloister-like setting right in downtown Tiberias. Breakfast is outstanding and when you're done sampling the groaning buffet, you can waddle down to the town's Galilee boardwalk - also great fun in the evening. Skip the annoying Church of Scotland missionary literature the front desk provides upon arrival: irrelevant to hospitalityand intrusive. The last thing the "Holy Land" needs is another missionary.

Room Tip: choose a room in one of the original buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmsarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a fantastic location, across the street for the Sea of Galilee, close to shops, beach, food and sailing. Great rooms

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph40881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The hotel's motto is something to the effect that "there is no other hotel like it in Israel". In a sense this is true - the fantastic grounds, beautiful view of the Kinerret (Sea of Galilee), comfortable and spacious (but not - "Wow!") rooms and a beautiful swimming pool (rather bizarrely situated on the other side of the road, although accessible by a footbridge).
The food was good - even excellent.
However there is something very Israeli about this hotel. Its "chutzpah". The weekend we were there was a 'private' event. The result was that the restaurant was not open for private guests for Saturday lunch (although the lobby was), the garden was 'occupied' for large parts of the day by the private guests. Considering that it is the peace and quiet which are the hotel's most important features this is a problem. We felt as we had been evicted - and indeed although we had been considering staying another night we did leave early.
Make sure you do not get a room on the first floor - especially one facing the main courtyard. Besides the noisy guests leaving the pub at 1.00 am - there is a constant buzzing (of the air conditioning system?)
I thought the charging for the broadband (although not that expensive) was just way of cue. No-one would contemplate for charging for an elevator these days - so why charge for broadband?
As a postscript - all Kudos to Costa in the bar/lobby/lounge/room service - who seemed to carry the hotel on his shoulders on that day.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise - and less 'ground guest' noise. Make sure the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york ny
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in the new part of the hotel, the rooms are do different than a shereton, anywhere.
The location is very good, right near the sea of galilee, other than that, this hotel has little to recommend it aside from a decent breakfast. The hotel had loads of bus tour groups coming to trek the "jesus trail". This place is pretty much forgettable the minute you leave it. If the this the best in the area, we would hate to see what the other hotels look like.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Scots hotel in August for 2 nights (Thu-Fri) during a winery weekend. We were greeted with a traditional Scottish drink as well as wine and biscuits. What a welcome! We were then given our room key and received a brief explanation regarding the premises and activities we could expect. The room (standard, not one of the 19 renovated ones) was clean and pretty basic.

Dinner and breakfast were both out of this world. Variety is the word at this establishment - we could choose from 5-6 entrées, abundant deserts and starters and great ambiance.

The hotel grounds are also beautiful, pool is great and the staff are unbelievably nice. I would highly recommend staying here despite the slightly high price tag.

Room Tip: Only 50 standard rooms and 19 specialty rooms in all. If you can foot the bill - go for one of the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elipstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We went to the Scots hotel after we heard brilliant reviews about it - from the hotel rooms, to the service, and specially the food.
We love going to hotels and particulary restaurants, and maybe one would say we're quite harsh, but I really couldn't understand what's all the fuss about.

Yes - the place is really beautiful. Great views to the Kineret (sea of gallilee), old restored houses, etc. The rooms are quite big but nothing too fancy - we stayed at an Antique room. Originally we booked one with a view to the sea, but apparently the room was on the first floor, and if you wanted to open the window or move away the blinds - everyone walking outside could see you! and i do mean everyone! Where's the privacy in that? How could you enjoy the view if you can't even open the blinds...The regular antique room had no view, it had a king size bed but the mattress was not good to our taste - you could feel every little movement from your partner laying at the other side of the mattress. Closet was quite small. The bathroom wasn't clean enough to our taste, and it clearly needs renovation.

The food - was far from being brilliant. I believe they rely mostly on good materials, fresh food. In the morning you'd get a nice buffet but there are almost no cooked or hot plates. We visited in Scotland and we couldn't wonder how come they don't even serve hot tomatoes, beans or bacon. So yeah, there are lots of vegetables to choose from (non are cooked, just nicely cut to the look), lots of cheese types, a few pork winners of different types, a few breads.. etc. There are a few eggs, a vegetable pie, and a few desserts - nothing really good, f.e a pancake that's not fluffy or airy at all. Too bad.
In dinner - there are more choices when it comes to hot plates. Everything was just "OK" or "nice". Usually we get pretty big eyes and we get another plate, this time we just ate one bite from everything, one plate, and that was it. Nothing that will make you want to eat again and again.

The service was quite nice, specially compared to other Israeli hotels.

I really don't understand how can they demand over 500$ a night. I've been to brilliant hotels all over the world, no one would dare take so much for such a hotel. Sorry, it's been lovely but not worth the money. I'd come back if they'd lower the prices. I'd say it's worth 200-250$ a night, not more.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor, not the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackUnicorn1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiberias hotels
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Galei Kinnereth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
0.1 mi away
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
#13 of 37 in Tiberias
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europa 1917 Hotel
Europa 1917 Hotel
#12 of 37 in Tiberias
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
#7 of 37 in Tiberias
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caesar Premier Tiberias
Caesar Premier Tiberias
#6 of 37 in Tiberias
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scots Hotel

Property: Scots Hotel
Address: Rehov Gdud Barak 1, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scots Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
built by the Church of Scotland on the site of the over 120-years-old historical medical complex, on the shores of the Sea of Galilee and overlooking the Golan Heights. The luxurious hotel is a unique fusion of 19th century basalt rock buildings dating from the time of the original hospital compound (offering 16 Antique rooms) and a modern building (offering 50 Unique and Deluxe rooms). For a culinary & a leisure experiences the hotel offers The Torrance Restaurant which is well known for the fine cuisine and rich gourmet food (non-kosher); the Gazebo Terrace with the beautiful botanical gardens overlooking the stunning vista of lake & mountains; the Ceilidh Bar with the authentic Scots Pub atmosphere; the Wine Cellar, the Visitor’s Centre and the LAKEVIEW SPA wellness center with Turkish Haman, Gym, Sauna and a large variety of special SPA treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scots Hotel Tiberias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing